F1 »

Webber reprimanded

Mark Webber keeps third on the grid in Texas but is reprimanded for missing weight check in qualifying
Mark Webber will start the United States Grand Prix from third on the grid after escaping with a reprimand after missing a weight check in qualifying.

The Australian was called before the stewards after missing the weight check during the first phase of the session in Texas, with the stewards then investigating the matter when the session had drawn to a close.

Having looked at the evidence and spoken to both Webber and a representative of the Red Bull team, the decision was taken to hand down a reprimand which means he will be able to start the race from the position in which he qualified after a solid showing in the session.

“The driver failed to proceed directly to the FIA garage for weighing when signalled to do so,” the stewards decision read. “However upon realising the error, the team brought the car back to the FIA garage immediately.”

Webber was pleased with his performance during qualifying as he secured a place on the clean side of the grid, although he said he was aiming to improve on race day as he seeks to help Red Bull wrap up the constructors' championship.

“I'm pretty happy with qualifying actually,” he said. “It's a very tricky venue in terms of tyres, circuit conditions, all those type of things together Seb touched on. It's easy to be out of the window here and not be super competitive if you don't get everything together. I was pretty happy with the last part of Q3. We had to manage a little problem in the car, which in the end I don't think would have cost us a position because the guys obviously were pretty quick and both did very strong lap times. But I'd have liked to have had a little bit more pace.

“Overall I'm happy to the third on the grid. It's certainly up there towards the front and we can have a very, very strong grand prix from there. So, it's a great job from the team. I think Constructors'-wise we've got our eye firmly on that tomorrow, to try and put that to bed and that'll be a huge result for everyone at Milton Keynes and at Renault.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
16.11.2012 - Free practice 2, Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB8
16.11.2012 - Free practice 2, Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB8
16.11.2012 - Free practice 2, Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB8
26.11.2015 - Press conference, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus F1 Team E23, Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11, Roberto Merhi (ESP) Manor Marussia F1 Team, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W06 and Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren Honda MP4-30
26.11.2015 - Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11
26.11.2015 - Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11
26.11.2015 -  Red Bull Racing RB11, detail
26.11.2015 - Mercedes AMG F1 W06, detail
26.11.2015 - Mercedes AMG F1 W06, detail
26.11.2015 - Mercedes` Steering wheel
26.11.2015 - Mercedes AMG F1 W06, detail
26.11.2015 - Pit lane walk
26.11.2015 - Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
26.11.2015 - Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W06
26.11.2015 - Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11
26.11.2015 - Paddock
26.11.2015 - Paddock
26.11.2015 - Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber C34

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Josh - Unregistered

November 18, 2012 7:13 AM

Kobayashi copped a five place grid penalty at the 2010 Hungarian Grand Prix for the exact same error. Stewards need to be consistent in their rulings, it's unfair for the same incident to earn one driver a penalty but another driver a reprimand.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group | Built by Accelerate Agency

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.