Crash.Net F1 News

Vettel takes Fastest Lap Award

27 November 2012

As well as clinching the 2012 F1 title, Sebastian Vettel had also earned the DHL Fastest Lap Award, handed out each season to the driver who sets the most fastest laps over the course of a season.

The Red Bull driver, who first took the award back in 2009, secured the fastest lap on six occasions this season to emerge on top of the pile ahead of Nico Rosberg, Kimi Raikkonen and Jenson Button – all of whom set two fastest laps.

A further eight drivers – including Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton – picked up a single fastest lap during 2012.

"This year's DHL Fastest Lap Award winner Sebastian Vettel has clearly demonstrated that continually striving for excellence and working closely as a team can deliver performance at top speed,” by Joakim Thrane, Managing Director, DHL Express Brazil, said on presenting Vettel with the award.

“Red Bull Racing's consecutive success in the past two years shows how important teamwork is to achieve success - a highly important ingredient for us also at DHL, as the international specialists in logistics."

DHL Fastest Lap Award 2012:

Sebastian Vettel 6
Nico Rosberg 2
Kimi Raikkonen 2
Jenson Button 2
Sergio Perez 1
Romain Grosjean 1
Nico Hulkenberg 1
Michael Schumacher 1
Mark Webber 1
Lewis Hamilton 1
Kamui Kobayashi 1
Bruno Senna 1