F1 »

Stars come out for BRDC awards dinner

The BRDC Awards see some of the leading stars of motorsport honoured for their 2012 achievements
The leading lights in motorsport have been honoured in the annual British Racing Drivers' Club after a star-studded ceremony in London.

The ceremony, hosted by outgoing BBC F1 anchorman Jake Humphrey, saw the likes of Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso, Adrian Newey and Alex Zanardi.

Staged at The Grand Connaught Rooms in Central London, the event was attended by the Club's President-in-Chief, HRH The Duke of Kent KG, who presented three trophies at the awards luncheon, while special guest and two-times Olympic Gold medallist Ed Clancy MBE was also on hand to hand out some of the silverware.

The top honour went to Rob Huff, who was awarded the BRDC's premier annual award, the prestigious BRDC Gold Star, for the second year running after winning the 2012 FIA World Touring Car Championship.

The Chevrolet driver was crowned World Champion after a dramatic season finale in Macau; where he was forced to retire from the opening race but secured a podium finish in race two that was good enough to see him lift the title.

It was also a good year for British Touring Cars, as Gordon Shedden received the Club's highest accolade for national racing, the BRDC Silver Star, after securing the title for the first time.

British achievements in Formula 1 were recognised with Lewis Hamilton MBE being awarded 'The ERA Club Trophy' and Red Bull Racing's Adrian Newey OBE collecting 'The Sir Jackie Stewart Award' for the fourth year running.

The outstanding successes of Dario Franchitti, who stamped his name in the record books by winning the Indy 500 for the third time in 2012, were also acknowledged with the Scot receiving 'The Earl Howe Trophy'.

Martin and Alex Brundles' assault on the 24 Hours of Le Mans was also recognised at the BRDC Awards, after the duo teamed up to pilot the Nissan-powered Greaves Motorsport LMP2 prototype in the legendary race. The father and son team were awarded 'The Woolf Barnato Trophy' by Murray Walker.

A full list of winners from the awards can be found by clicking HERE.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
BRDC Awards
24.05.2017 - Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
24.05.2017 - Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
24.05.2017 - Guenther Steiner (ITA) Haas F1 Team Prinicipal and Claudio Albertini, Ferrari Head of Customer Teams Power Unit Operations
24.05.2017 - Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Haas F1 Team VF-17
24.05.2017 - The motorbike of Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
24.05.2017 - Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
24.05.2017 - Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
24.05.2017 - Mercedes AMG F1 W08, detail
24.05.2017 - Mercedes AMG F1 W08, detail
24.05.2017 - The motorbike of Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
Haas F1 livery updated Monaco GP
Fernando Alonso greets fans at the Spanish Grand Prix
F1 2017 video game logo
Fernando Alonso in a Rubik`s Cube mosaic...
14.05.2017 - Race, Celebration, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08 race winner
14.05.2017 - Race, Celebration, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08 race winner
14.05.2017 - Race, Celebration, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08 race winner

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

ant10 - Unregistered

December 04, 2012 6:14 PM

What an absolute joke these awards are, button spent most of the the season coming nowwhere, could,nt qualify anywhere the top 5 most of the season and blames the car, the weather and anything else he can think off, then gets an autosport award................what???? what an absolute f..**ing joke thses awards are

Cabeto from Angola - Unregistered

December 04, 2012 12:20 PM

Jenson Button has won the 2012 British Competition Driver of the Year Award at the AUTOSPORT Awards in London. He beat 2008 Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton, four-time IndyCar champion and triple Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti, 2012 World Touring Car champion Rob Huff, Force India F1 driver Paul di Resta and 2012 DTM runner-up Gary Paffett to win the award. Button is the bottom of the pile compared to any driver mentioned above, how did he pull this one off, this award is based on WHAT?? is this a joke???

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.