Now in its second year, the 2012 Racer of the Year vote asked viewers to compare the nine top performers from a range of leading motorsport championships.

The group comprised the winners of similar votes for each individual championship, carried out after the close of the 2012 racing season.

Viewers were asked to award each driver/rider with a score out of ten, the average value of which was used to determine who you thought was 'best of the best' in 2012. Voting, which was open for one week, closed on January 14.

As already announced, F1 runner-up Fernando Alonso added to his success in the grand prix category to deny MotoGP's Dani Pedrosa by the narrowest of margins.

The full Racer of the Year results for all nine competitors can be seen below...

1. Fernando Alonso (F1) - 7.847 out of 10
2. Dani Pedrosa (MotoGP) - 7.786
3. Tom Sykes (WSBK) - 7.660
4. Sebastien Loeb (WRC) - 7.635
5. Shane Byrne (BSB) - 6.878
6. Gordon Shedden (BTCC) - 5.959
7. Ryan Hunter-Reay (IndyCar) - 5.864
8. Luiz Razia (GP2) - 5.763
9. Brad Keselowski (NASCAR) - 5.614