Ferrari appears determined to keep F1 fans and media alike on their toes as it again changes its car numbering designation for 2013.

After its 2010 car was called the F10, its successor the F150 and last year's the F2012, the Scuderia has opted for the equally non-sequential F138 moniker for the machine it hopes will carry Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa to championship success.

The 59th F1 car to be built by Ferrari derives its name from a combination of the current year, 2013, and the number of cylinders featuring in its engine, to mark the fact that this will be the last season that the V8 configuration will be used in F1.

The car is due to be launched at Maranello on Friday (1 February) before being shipped to Jerez for the start of pre-season testing.

Lotus, the only team to have unveiled its car so far this year, altered its numbering system last year to reflect 20 years of F1 activity at its Enstone base, and has continued in sequence with the E21 set to take on Ferrari's F138 and the more logically numbered RB9 and MP4-28 from Red Bull and McLaren respectively.