F1 »

Berger blames media for inflaming Bahrain situation

Former F1 pilot Gerhard Berger has blamed the media for inflaming the unrest within Bahrain.

FIA single-seater commission president Gerhard Berger has slammed the international media for driving concerns over the political situation inside Bahrain.

The Austrian never raced at the Sakhir circuit during a career that took in 210 races between 1984 and 1997, but backed the annual grand prix despite calls for it to be dropped from the schedule because of the unrest it caused.

While protests, peaceful and otherwise, took place in and around Manama during the opening two days of the 2013 event, Berger insisted that it wasn't F1's fault, instead blaming the media for over-playing the problems and giving the protestors a guaranteed outlet for their anti-democracy claims

“I came here a couple of months ago, went all around the city and I didn't see any fighting or anything resembling it,” he told Spain's El Pais newspaper, “I think the press has overstated everything, but the reality is that nothing happened last year and nothing is happening this time.

“If you believe what you read, then F1 is motivating a war, but this is not a country at war. It is a place where there are some problems but, if we stop coming here, then we will have to stop going to China and other countries like that as well.”

Tagged as: Bahrain , Gerhard Berger , unrest

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
19.04.2013- Free Practice 2, Atmosphere
19.04.2013- Free Practice 2, Gerard Berger
19.04.2013- Free Practice 1, Atmosphere
18.04.2015 - Gerhard Berger (AUT) (Centre) with Crown Prince Shaikh Salman bin Isa Hamad Al Khalifa (BRN) (Right).
18.04.2015 - Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W06
18.04.2015 - Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W06
18.04.2015 - Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM08
18.04.2015 - Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
18.04.2015 - Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W06
18.04.2015 - Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull Racing RB11
18.04.2015 - Marcus Ericsson (SUE) Sauber C34
18.04.2015 - Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus F1 Team E23 and Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM08
18.04.2015 - Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
18.04.2015 - Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari SF15-T
18.04.2015 - Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber C34
18.04.2015 - Max Verstappen (NED) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR10 and Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR10
18.04.2015 - Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB11
18.04.2015 - David Richards and Ron Dennis (GBR) McLaren Executive Chairman

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.