F1 »

McLaren wins innovation award

McLaren's electronics arm has been rewarded for its creativity, both in motorsport and beyond.
Enjoying a brief moment of success in an otherwise dire season for its F1 operation, McLaren has received a prestigious award at the first annual European Awards for Innovation Leadership.

Peter van Manen, MD of McLaren Electronic Systems, was presented with the High Performance Innovation Award in recognition of MESL's years of innovation of electronics and software for high impact industries. The company, an arm of the McLaren Group based in Woking, is the official ECU supplier to the F1 world championship, as well as both the NASCAR Sprint Cup and IZOD IndyCar Series.

The company also supplies control and data systems to the automotive, aerospace, transport and healthcare markets.

“McLaren has innovation in its DNA,” van Manen said after picking up the award at a ceremony in Trinity College, Dublin, “We recognised the potential of high performance electronics in motorsport over 20 years ago and now apply that know-how to racing teams and engine makers across the world.

“We are also translating knowledge and technology to other sectors to help sick children, improve public transport systems and much more. I am hugely proud to receive this award on behalf of all my colleagues at McLaren and I hope that, together, the members of the Innovation Luminary Academy can serve to inspire future generations of innovators.”

F1 rival Red Bull was, indirectly, also able to join McLaren in picking up an award, as 'spacediver' Felix Baumgartner received the Innovation Courage award for the Red Bull Stratos project that saw him break numerous freefall records as he plummeted to earth from the edge of space.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
McLaren logo. 01.03.2013.
McLaren - Honda MCL32
Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren MCL32 F1 launch, [Credit: McLaren]
McLaren MCL32, McLaren-Honda, [Credit: McLaren]
Fernando Alonso - McLaren MCL32
McLaren MCL32
McLaren MCL32
McLaren MCL32
McLaren MCL32
McLaren MCL32
McLaren Honda MCL32
Lando Norris joins McLaren`s Young Driver Programme
McLaren, 2011 launch, [Credit: Crash PA]
Nico Rosberg and Fernando Alonso - Mercedes, McLaren
Ayrton Senna - McLaren. 1993 Donington Park
Lando Norris, McLaren Autosport BRDC Awards [Credit: Martyn Pass PR]
27.11.2016 - Race, Jenson Button (GBR)  McLaren Honda MP4-31
27.11.2016 - Race, Jenson Button (GBR)  McLaren Honda MP4-31

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.