F1 »

Bahrain to host first race of 2014

Bahrain set to host the first race of the 2014 F1 calendar, but reports claim Korean and Indian grands prix are in doubt
Bahrain is set to host the first of a 21-race calendar for the 2014 F1 season, but both the Korean and Indian grands prix are reportedly doubtful.

The event at the Bahrain International Circuit has come under much scrutiny in recent years, with large scale government protests and unrest forcing the cancellation of it back in 2011.

The race has however, taken place in both 2012 and 2013, and is reportedly set to open the season on March 2nd next year.

The 2014 calendar will be confirmed by the FIA in August, but races in Korea and India are not likely to take place.

Korea's current contract runs until 2016, but poor popularity means it could now be scrapped. The Indian Grand Prix meanwhile, is supposedly lacking the financial backing to appear in 2014: "We are hearing that the 2013 race is financially backed, but not the 2014 one. Indian sources suggest the [promoter] Jaypee Group is nearing bankruptcy," Speed Week Magazine reported.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
14.03.2010 Sakhir, Bahrain,  Drivers 2010 - Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 1, Bahrain Grand Prix, Sunday
1983 Spa Francorchamps - Belgian Grand Prix
Brian Redman - Cooper Belgian Grand Prix Spa 1968
Nivelles circuit - Belgian Grand Prix [credit: Google Earth]
Nivelles circuit - Belgian Grand Prix
Belgian Grand Prix - Nivelles
Belgian Grand Prix - Nivelles
Jean Alesi, Tyrrell, 1989 French Grand Prix [Credit: Crash PA]
Michael Schumacher, 7UP Jordan, 1991 Belgian Grand Prix [Credit: Crash PA]
F1 returns to Malaysia but this time in a September date
F1 returns to Malaysia, but this time it will be in September
Pirelli tyre selections per driver for the Belgian GP [Credit: Pirelli]
Pirelli F1 2017 tyre test, Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari [Credit: Pirelli]
Pirelli F1 2017 tyre test, Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari [Credit: Pirelli]
Pirelli F1 2017 tyre test, Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari [Credit: Pirelli]
31.07.2016 - Race, Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR11 and Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Renault Sport F1 Team RS16
31.07.2016 - Race, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Haas F1 Team VF-16 and Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM09
31.07.2016 - Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W07 Hybrid race winner

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.