Nico Rosberg suffered a repeat of his 2012 qualifying result in Austin, failing to progress past the second phase for the second year in a row.

The German reported a less than satisfactory opening session, but enjoyed no better fortune second time around, and was only able to secure 14th position on the provisional grid after failing to improve on his final run in the 15-minute session.

Rosberg would have been joined on row seven by McLaren's Jenson Button had it not been for the Briton's practice penalty, but he was unable to capitalise on promising practice performances and missed the cut to start outside the top ten for the third race in a row this season. The pair will line up behind Daniel Ricciardo and Paul di Resta, while Felipe Massa and Jean-Eric Vergne follow in 15th and 16th respectively.

Related Articles

The final minutes of the session culminated in a shoot-out for the last few places in the top ten, with Esteban Gutierrez - still potentially facing a penalty for blocking in Q1 - and Heikki Kovalainen booking places in the third phase of qualifying.

Top spot was taken by Sebastian Vettel, who waited until the end of the session to make a single run, with Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber next up. Fernando Alonso, Valtteri Bottas, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hulkenberg, Lewis Hamilton, Gutierrez, Sergio Perez and Kovalainen complete the list of those remaining the hunt for pole.