F1 »

Brazilian Grand Prix POLL: Who was finest in finale?

The 19th and final race of the 2013 F1 season may not have produced a surprise winner, but was the stand-out performance deeper in the pack?
Rain or no rain, the Brazilian Grand Prix at least provided action that had been missing from some of the earlier races this season, but who stood out at the finale?

Perhaps as expected after his stellar qualifying run, Sebastian Vettel took another victory, equalling the records of Alberto Ascari and Michael Schumacher for consecutive wins and wins in a season respectively. The German was in no mood to be charitable towards Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber as he cruised to a ten-second victory, his 13th of 2013.

The gap to Webber, reduced during a hasty stacked pit-stop when the safety car threatened, was artificially extended again as the Australian spent his final lap trying to unhook his HANS device in order to remove his helmet for the slow-down lap - his last in an F1 car before he heads to sportscars with Porsche. A poor getaway gave Webber work to do, as did a slow first stop, but he responded with some typically feisty driving, prompting team boss Christian Horner to question whether retirement was the right decision...

Fernando Alonso took third place from third on the grid, the mixed conditions he craved not arriving in time for him to challenge the Red Bulls. The Spaniard despatched Nico Rosberg's Mercedes with comparative ease, but twice fell victim to the charging Webber before joining his friend and rival on the podium.

Jenson Button had promised a run for the podium in the build-up to the race, but 14th on the grid did not bode well for the Briton. However, having opted for a dry set-up, and started on the harder Pirelli, Button was able to make up early places, eventually securing fourth place and McLaren's best result of a sorry season.

Rosberg, carrying more rear wing, had to settle for fifth place - enough to secure Mercedes second in the constructors' championship - but was under pressure from the second McLaren of Sergio Perez in the closing stages. The Mexican had come from 19th on the grid after requiring a gearbox change following his qualifying accident, but put himself firmly in the shop window as he looks for a drive next season...

Behind the McLaren, Felipe Massa overcame a harsh drive-thru' penalty - from crossing the pit-lane entry more than once - to come home seventh. Dropping from a potential fourth, however, was enough to ensure that Ferrari had to settle for third in the teams' table...

Nico Hulkenberg gave Sauber another points finish on what is likely to be his final race with the Swiss team, and had enough in hand to keep Lewis Hamilton at bay after the Briton was handed a penalty for causing an accident with Valtteri Bottas.

Daniel Ricciardo, meanwhile, claimed the final point of the season, denying Paul di Resta a potential scoring farewell to F1.

But who impressed you the most? Was Vettel's front-running performance the one to catch the eye, or did someone else deeper in the pack, grab your attention?

To log your vote, simply CLICK HERE and feel free to explain your reasoning in the comments section below...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
22.11.2013- Free Practice 2, Felipe Massa (BRA) Scuderia Ferrari F138
23.11.2013- Free Practice 3, Sergio Perez (MEX) McLaren MP4-28
17.11.2013- Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren Mercedes MP4-28
24.11.2013 - Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) Scuderia Ferrari F138
22.11.2013- Free Practice 1, Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB9
24.11.2013 - Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull Racing RB9 race winner
24.11.2013 - Race, Start of the race
25.06.2017 - Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
25.06.2017 - Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W08
25.06.2017 - Race, The race stopped, Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32 and the Safety car
25.06.2017 - Race, Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR12 and Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32
25.06.2017 - Race, Esteban Ocon (FRA) Sahara Force India F1 VJM10 and Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams FW40
25.06.2017 - Race, Sergio Perez (MEX) Sahara Force India F1 VJM010 and Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H
25.06.2017 - Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32 and Marcus Ericsson (SUE) Sauber C36
25.06.2017 - Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MCL32 and 3rd place Lance Stroll (CDN) Williams FW40
25.06.2017 - Race, Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB13 race winner
25.06.2017 - Race, Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB13 race winner
25.06.2017 - Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF70H

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.