Indian involvement in front-line motorsport will expand next season, after Mahindra Racing, the motorsports division of Mumbai-based multinational Mahindra Group, agreed to become the eighth entrant in the new Formula E series.

Already a major global force in the development and production of electric vehicles through its Mahindra Reva Company, joining the new zero emission series was a natural step for the Mahindra Group.

"We strongly believe that Formula E can provide an excellent global showcase for our electric vehicle technology," chairman and MD Anand Mahindra, "With advanced operations and expertise in electronics, IT, automotive technologies and manufacturing, we are already seeing the fusion of this technology into our electric vehicle operations. Racing will further accelerate that trend while Formula E is set to raise awareness globally about the benefits of electric vehicles."

Related Articles

Mahindra is no stranger to international motorsport, with Mahindra Racing already established within the MotoGP World Championship.

"Mahindra Racing is relatively young, but we have seen how racing delivers benefits to our organisation, not only from the brand perspective, but equally in terms of technology advances and motivation," chairman SP Shukla explained, "This is an excellent addition to our racing portfolio and we are looking forward to a successful future in Formula E."

Mahindra will now be put forward to the FIA for final approval as the eighth team to enter the championship and, if successful, will join motorsport heavyweights such as IndyCar outfits Andretti Autosport and Dragon Racing, former F1 team Super Aguri, open-wheel all-rounder e.dams and sportscar giants Drayson Racing and Audi Sport ABT.

"We are very proud to have a major global company like Mahindra join the FIA Formula E Championship," series CEO Alejandro Agag commented, "Adding a manufacturer from India to what is already a real global mix of teams is fantastic news for the series. Everything is coming together very well and we look forward to presenting all ten teams to the FIA World Motor Sport Council next month."