The new Formula E Championship will be made up of ten events when it launches next season, it has been announced, with Brazil returning at the expense of Hong Kong.

The calendar was submitted to the FIA during the latest meeting of the World Motor Sport Council this week.

The inaugural Formula E Championship will run from September 2014 to June 2015, with race one of the new global electric motor racing series taking place in China. The ten teams and 20 drivers will then remain in Asia for round two in Malaysia, before travelling to Brazil and Uruguay.

Related Articles

Argentina will hold the first race in 2015, before the focus shifts to the United States, with Los Angeles and Miami hosting rounds six and seven.

The final three rounds then take place in Europe, namely in Monaco, Germany and Britain. The race in London will take place on June 26 2015 and will bring the curtain down on the inaugural season.

Hong Kong meanwhile will now be 'considered as a candidate city for the following Formula E seasons', organisers said.

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E Holdings, added: "It's a great feeling to be able to confirm our calendar for the inaugural Formula E season and we're very thankful to all the cities, and candidate cities, for showing their commitment to sustainable mobility.

"The level of interest we have received from cities all over the globe has been overwhelming and choosing the final 10 has been a challenging and meticulous process. We're confident our final 10 cities will provide an array of fantastic backdrops to showcase electric cars in their favoured urban environments, as well as allow us to put on a great spectacle for the fans."

All Formula E events will feature a free practice session, qualifying session, one-hour race and live music concert taking place in a single day [Saturday] in order to minimise disruption to the city and its surrounding areas. Precise circuit layouts for each venue will be revealed at a later stage but all will use city-centre locations. Tickets for the first rounds will go on sale in 2014.

The full 2014/2015 Formula E Championship schedule is as follows:

2014/2015 Formula E calendar

13 September 2014 China Beijing
18 October 2014 Malaysia Putrajaya
15 November 2014 Brazil Rio de Janeiro
13 December 2014 Uruguay Punta del Este
10 January 2015 Argentina Buenos Aires
14 February 2015 USA Los Angeles
14 March 2015 USA Miami
09 May 2015 Monaco Monaco
30 May 2015 Germany Berlin
27 June 2015 Britain London