F1 »

Todt to support move for permanent F1 driver numbers

Jean Todt: I think it would be nice if drivers kept the same number, with the exception of the world champion.
Jean Todt has thrown his weight behind moves to bring in permanent race numbers in F1, although he has said the 'number one' should always belong on the car of the world champion.

“I am supportive of that proposal,” Todt told French newspaper, L'Equipe after he was re-elected last week as the president of the FIA, the governing body of world motorsport. “I think it would be nice if drivers kept the same number, with the exception of the world champion, who [should] always display the number one.”

Currently numbers in F1 are assigned according to where teams finish in the Constructors' Championship, with the exception of the number one, that always goes to the reigning world champion. However in the past that wasn't always the case, with red 5, famously associated with Nigel Mansell, while the #27 is always linked to the legendary Gilles Villeneuve - although neither was specifically allocated.

Meanhwhile, Todt also added there is a need to make race numbers more visible in F1.

“When I come to see or watch a grand prix, I cannot see the name or number of the driver. I know they need space on the cars for sponsors. But I think there are solutions,” he continued. “For example, we could put bigger numbers on the helmets.”

In MotoGP most riders stick with the same number, as the premier bike championship uses a different process to F1 and it means on the whole riders can run with whatever number they want, as long as it is not already taken and as long as it hasn't been 'retired'. Hence Valentino Rossi has made the #46 his own, and Nicky Hayden and Jorge Lorenzo have done the same with #69 and #99.

Tagged as: FIA , Jean Todt , president , Todt

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
03.11.2013- Jean Todt (FRA), President FIA
03.11.2013- Jean Todt (FRA), President FIA
07.09.2013- Jean Todt (FRA) Fia President
30.06.2013- Jean Todt (FRA) Fia President
17.03.2013- Race, Jean Todt (FRA), President FIA
1986 Formula One World Championship.Nigel Mansell (GB), Canon Williams Honda FW11.Canadian Grand Prix, 15th June 1986.
Gilles Villeneuve

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.