The FIA has announced that double points will be awarded at the final race of each F1 season.

The decision has been made following a meeting of the F1 Strategy Group and the Formula One Commission in Paris today.

"Double drivers' and constructors' points will be awarded at the final race of the Formula One season in order to maximise focus on the Championship until the end of the campaign," read a statement.

Related Articles

The changes are immediately applicable, 'given the mandate assigned to the FIA president at the last World Motor Sport Council meeting, held on 4 December in Paris'.

As such, drivers will now be able to score a maximum of 50 points in the last race of the year, while teams be able to notch up 86 - 50 for winning and 36 for second.

In terms of the drivers' championship, it would have had no influence on the outcome of this year's battle, although Sebastian Vettel would not have taken the title in 2012. Instead Ferrari number one driver Fernando Alonso would have come out top. The Scuderia would also have benefitted in 2008, when then McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton denied Felipe Massa the crown by a single point - the Brazilian won the season finale at Interlagos, but it wasn't quite enough...