Red Bull has announced that it is to trim its Junior Team to just three drivers for the 2014 season.

New Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat and Red Bull test driver Antonio Felix da Costa both featured in the Junior Team last year alongside Tom Blomqvist, Carlos Sainz Jr, Callan O'Keefe and Bietske Visser, with Sainz the only one of the six to be retained for 2014.

The Spaniard will again race in Formula Renault 3.5 this season where he will be joined by French youngster Pierre Gasly, while Macau GP winner Alex Lynn completes the Junior Team and has been placed in GP3 with Carlin.

Related Articles

"I think that it is obviously fantastic to be privileged enough to join the team that has produced so many Formula One drivers and that includes the greatest driver of our generation so far," the Briton said, making reference to former Junior Team driver Sebastian Vettel.

"I believe that I can take the experience that I have gathered in the last two years in Formula 3 and in Formula Renault and do a good job as quickly as possible in GP3. I think that with the strength of the Carlin team and my experience we should be able to do a good job straight away."