Kimi Raikkonen may have claimed a surprise victory in the annual F1 Driver of the Year poll on, but could not repeat the feat when ranged against the best of the best from other categories.

The Finn saw off the challenge of both 2012 vote winner Fernando Alonso and four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel to take become the F1 driver of choice amongst our readers, but facing off against Marc Marquez, the youngest ever MotoGP champion, proved a bigger test of Raikkonen's mettle.

The final reckoning saw the Ferrari returnee, who won the opening race of 2013 and embarked on a run of podium finishes before his season was ended by the recurrence of a back injury, score an impressive average rating of 7.4 for his campaign, but Marquez still emerged as a comfortable winner, with an average score of 8.0.

Related Articles

Behind the top two, WSBK poll winner Tom Sykes claimed third spot for the second year running, placing ahead of WRC2 champion Robert Kubica, BSB king Alex Lowes and motorcycle road racer Michael Dunlop. The list was completed by Scott Dixon (IndyCar), Andrew Jordan (BTCC), Sam Bird (GP2) and Matt Kenseth (NASCAR).

Each contender was drawn from their individual championship poll, held online at the end of last season, with voters asked to rate drivers and riders out of ten for the performance across the year. The Racer of the Year vote closed on 15 January 2014.

The full result of the 2013 poll is as follows:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (MotoGP) 8.01 out of 10
2. Kimi Raikkonen FIN Lotus-Renault (F1) 7.42
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing (WSBK) 6.96
4. Robert Kubica POL Lotos Dynamic Rally/Abu Dhabi Citroen Total (WRC) 6.76
5. Alex Lowes GBR Samsung Honda (BSB) 6.49
6. Michael Dunlop GBR Honda TT Legends/MD Racing (Road Racing) 6.29
7. Scott Dixon NZ Target Chip Ganassi Racing (IndyCar) 5.18
8. Andrew Jordan GBR Pirtek Racing (BTCC) 5.07
9. Sam Bird GBR Russian Time (GP2) 4.97
10. Matt Kenseth USA Joe Gibbs Racing (NASCAR) 4.63

Previous winners:

2012 Fernando Alonso F1
2011 Casey Stoner MotoGP