FE »

Bourdais and Senna latest additions to Formula E club

Sebastien Bourdais and Bruno Senna are among the latest drivers to join Formula E's "drivers club" putting them in line for potential race seats.
The new FIA Formula E Championship has unveiled another eight drivers who have expressed support for the electric-racing series and who have put themselves into contention for future race seats in the series, which gets underway later this year.

The new names include five former F1 drivers as well as star names from IndyCar and GP2.

Brazil's Bruno Senna spent three years in the F1 paddock, starting with HRT in 2010 before moving to Renault and finally Williams in 2012, since when he's been competing in sportscar competitions including last year's Le Mans 24 Hour race.

'm very excited to be part of the Formula E Drivers' Club as Formula E and electric cars are the path for racing and motoring for a better future," confirmed Senna.

Sébastien Bourdais spent a season and a half with Scudiera Toro Rosso in 2008 and 2009, having already been a four-time champion in the US Champ Car World Series. He's since moved to the IndyCar Series as well as sportscars, and last weekend was in the winning driver-up for the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

"Formula E is a really exciting project and a really big innovation in motor racing," said Bourdais. "You don't get to be a part of such technological advances very often in a career.

"I would be extremely happy to discover the car and begin racing next September, and I believe the best way to achieve that is to be part of the Drivers' Club."

India's Narain Karthikeyan has raced in F1 for Jordan and HRT as well as testing for Williams F1, and last year competed in the Auto GP Series, while Dutch driver Christijan Albers worked with Minardi, Midland and Spyker between 2005 and 2007 after having already become a star in DTM.

Frenchman Franck Montagny has also put his name forward, and brings with him experience from Le Mans, World Series by Nissan and A1 Grand Prix together with his time as a F1 test driver at Renault, Williams and Toyota alongside his seven race outings in F1 with Super Aguri in 2006.

Other names added to Formula E's "driver's club" include Spain's Oriol Servia and America's JR Hildebrand from IndyCar, and Germany's Daniel Abt from GP2 and GP3.

"I've been following this project for quite a while and I'm very enthusiastic about the new ideas in terms of racing and regulations," said Abt. "For me as a young driver Formula E clearly marks racing of the next generation.

"My family's company is involved with the only German team, [so] it makes things even more exciting," he added. "Of course my focus in 2014 will be on the GP2 series, but I'm proud to be involved in Formula E from the very beginning, be a member of the Drives' Club and now have the chance to follow things very closely. And of course I can't wait to try the car at sometime!"

The eight new names join the first batch announced earlier this month which included former F1 stars Switzerland's Sebastien Buemi, Indian driver Karun Chandhok, Italy's Vitantonio Liuzzi, Lucas di Grassi from Brazil and Japanese driver Takuma Sato, along with China's Ma Qing Hua, Frenchman Adrien Tambay and American third-generation racer Marco Andretti.

Although the "drivers club" presents teams in the championship with a potential pool of interested talent, final driver signings for the inaugural Formula E season will remain up to the individual teams, which include Andretti Autosport run by Marco's father Michael, himself a former F1 driver from the 1990s.

FIA Formula E Championship
Drivers' Club line-up as of January 27 2014

Daniel Abt, Germand
Christijan Albers, Netherlands
Marco Andretti, USA
Sébastien Bourdais, France
Sebastien Buemi, Switzerland
Karun Chandhok, India
Lucas di Grassi, Bazil
J.R. Hildebrand, USA
Ma Qing Hua, China
Narain Karthikeyan, India
Vitantonio Liuzzi, Italy
Franck Montagny, France
Takuma Sato, Japan
Bruno Senna, Brazil
Oriol Servia, Spain
Adrien Tambay, France

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Donington Park will be the new home of Formula E [Pic credit: Formula E]
Bruno Senna (BRA) Williams F1 Team FW34
Sam Bird
Sam Bird
Sam Bird
Alex Lynn
Dragon Formula E Jerome d`Ambrosio
Sebastien Buemi Berlin FE
Felix Rosenqvist Berlin 2
Felix Rosenqvist Berlin
Heidfeld Mahindra
Panasonic Jaguar Racing on-track
Stephane Sarrazin
Sebastien Buemi Formula E
Buemi Paris Formula E
Sebastien Buemi Formula E Paris
Lucas di Grassi Formula E Paris
Paris Formula E practice

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


January 27, 2014 5:06 PM

Would be more interesting to see them look at upcoming talent from GP2 and the likes I reckon. But there are some pretty decent drivers in there, some fo which never really got the chance to prove their worth in F1. Buemi, Senna or possibly Sato would be my pick, roughly in that order.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.