Malaysia will continue to host a round of the Formula 1 World Championship until 2018 after a new three-year deal was reached between the Sepang International Circuit and FOM.

On the weekend Sepang held its 17th Malaysian Grand Prix - won by Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel - the agreement of an extension puts it in a position to host 20 consecutive races by the close of its new deal.

As part of the agreement, Malaysian petrol giant Petronas will also continue as the title sponsor for the next three years having supported the race from the inaugural 1999 event.

Related Articles

The new deal puts aside doubts about the race's future after negotiations to agree a new contract threatened to drag on beyond the conclusion of its erstwhile agreement. However, the announcement means all venues that will host a race in 2015, now have a firm contract for at least 2016 too.