The FIA has confirmed the final calendar for the 2016 Formula 1 World Championship season with only a minor change from September's provisional schedule.

The 2016 season will see a record 21 races take place, with all 2015 events included along with the return of the German Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring and a new event around the streets of Baku in Azerbaijan.

Following a meeting of the World Motor Sport Council, the only minor revision to the schedule sees the Mexican Grand Prix brought forward a week to be held on the 30th October, making it a back-to-back event with the USA Grand Prix, rather than the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Related Articles

However, following the news that the Circuit of the Americas has had a substantial amount of its local funding cut for 2016, the United States Grand Prix is now subject to contract negotiations between the promoter and the ASN (National Sporting Association)

2016 F1 calendar

March 20 Australia
April 3 Bahrain
April 17 China
May 1 Russia
May 15 Spain
May 29 Monaco
June 12 Canada
June 19 Europe/Azerbaijan
July 3 Austria
July 10 Britain
July 24 Hungary
July 31 Germany
August 28 Belgium
September 4 Italy
September 18 Singapore
October 2 Malaysia
October 9 Japan
October 23 USA **
October 30 Mexico
November 13 Brazil
November 27 Abu Dhabi

** Subject to contract