Charles Leclerc has been crowned the GP3 Series champion with one race in hand after his main rival Alexander Albon crashed out whilst disputing the lead.

The Monegasque, who has completed several FP1 sessions with the Haas F1 team this year, came into the final round of the season with a comfortable 25 point lead over ART Grand Prix team-mate Albon but his Thai rival appeared to set to take the title fight into a final race showdown after converting his pole position into an early lead as Leclerc floundered down in sixth.

However, when Albon collided with Jack Aitken as they fought over the lead, his retirement meant Leclerc was guaranteed to be crowned champion. Leclerc himself would later retire after contact with Santino Ferrucci forced him off and out.

Leclerc, who will test GP2 machinery in Abu Dhabi this week, is ART's fourth GP3 drivers' champion after Esteban Ocon in 2015, Valtteri Bottas in 2011 and Esteban Gutierrez in 2010.

Previous GP3 Series Champions
2010 - Esteban Gutierrez - ART Grand Prix
2011 - Valtteri Bottas - Lotus ART
2012 - Mitch Evans - MW Arden
2013 - Daniil Kvyat - MW Arden
2014 - Alex Lynn - Carlin
2015 - Esteban Ocon - ART Grand Prix

Latest Tweets from & GPF1rst


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment