The annual list of Formula 1 salaries has again been published with Lewis Hamilton ousting Fernando Alonso from the top position.

The information - complied by Business Book GP and reported by back in September - alleges the three-time F1 world champion took home EUR32 million this season, up EUR7 million on his previous year's salary, a consequence of the new deal he signed with Mercedes twelve months ago. It does not take into account any external endorsements.

Meanwhile, Sebastian Vettel also got a rise in his second season with Ferrari, up from EUR28m to EUR30m, the same as Fernando Alonso - his take home at McLaren-Honda actually down by EUR5m compared to 2015, it is unclear why.

Jenson Button is fourth, estimated to have got EUR17m in his final year as a race driver for McLaren-Honda - unless he comes back in 2018 of course - with Champion Nico Rosberg a relative bargain with a salary of EUR16m. The German did have a Mercedes contract for 2017 and 2018, thought to be worth around EUR20-EUR25m per year, but will now forgo that following his decision to retire.

Kimi Raikkonen completes the top-eight on EUR8 million - compared to the EUR18 million he was said to have earned in 2015 - followed by Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo with EUR5.5 million (+EUR4m on 2015), and Felipe Massa, Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg, all reputedly making EUR4m, no change compared to last year.

Romain Grosjean took a EUR1m pay-cut after moving to Haas, while Valtteri Bottas saw his income increase by the same amount - leaving both on EUR3m.

Max Verstappen took a relatively paltry EUR500,000, but will surely earn more in 2016 following his early promotion back in May and Red Bull's decision to sign him to a long term contract.

The full breakdown is below...


1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes EUR32m
2. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari EUR30m
= Fernando Alonso McLaren-Honda EUR30m
4. Jenson Button McLaren-Honda EUR17m
5. Nico Rosberg Mercedes EUR16m
6. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari EUR8m
7. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing EUR5.5m
8. Felipe Massa Williams EUR4m
= Nico Hulkenberg Force India F1 EUR4m
= Sergio Perez Force India F1 EUR4m
11. Romain Grosjean Haas F1 Team EUR3m
= Valtteri Bottas Williams EUR3m
13. Esteban Gutierrez Haas F1 Team EUR750,000
14. Kevin Magnussen Renault EUR750,000
15. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Red Bull Racing EUR750,000
16. Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing/Toro Rosso EUR500,000
= Pascal Wehrlein Manor EUR500,000
18. Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso EUR350,000
19. Jolyon Palmer Renault EUR250,000
20. Felipe Nasr Sauber EUR200,000
= Marcus Ericsson Sauber EUR200,000
22. Rio Haryanto Manor EUR150,000
23. Esteban Ocon Manor Not listed

What the F1 teams spent on drivers in 2016:

1. Mercedes EUR48m
2. McLaren-Honda EUR47m
3. Ferrari EUR38m
4. Force India EUR8m
5. Williams EUR7m
6. Red Bull Racing EUR6-6.25m
7. Renault EUR1m
8. Scuderia Toro Rosso EUR750,000-EUR1m
9. Manor EUR650,000
10. Sauber EUR400,000

To compare to the 2015 salaries, CLICK HERE

Latest Tweets from & GPF1rst


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment