Singapore will celebrate more than one historic milestone when it takes its place on the Formula One calendar later this month, with the first event around the city streets also being the 800th race in the history of the F1 World Championship.

The Singapore race will be the first ever F1 race to run under lights around the new 5.067km and aside from trying to take their place as the first driver to win an F1 'night race', the field will also look to ink their name in the record books as the winner of the 800th event.

So far, 100 drivers have tasted F1 victory, going from Giuseppe Farina at Silverstone back in 1950 right through to Heikki Kovalainen in Hungary earlier this year. Italy and American have both had 15 different race winners, although in the case of the USA, ten of those came while the Indy 500 was part of the F1 championship calendar.

In terms of overall drivers, Michael Schumacher is easily the most successful driver, with 91 wins and seven world titles during his illustrious career.

So far, the 'century' races in F1's history have been won by seven drivers from seven different countries, with the likes of Lewis Hamilton, Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen now hoping to add their name to the list.

Key F1 race winners:

1. Giuseppe Farina 1950
100. Sir Stirling Moss 1961
200. Sir Jackie Stewart 1971
300. Ronnie Peterson 1978
400. Niki Lauda 1984
500. Nelson Piquet 1990
600. Jacques Villeneuve 1997
700. Giancarlo Fisichella 2003
800. ???? 2008