F1 »

Second milestone for Silverstone.

Singapore will celebrate more than one historic milestone when it takes its place on the Formula One calendar later this month, with the first event around the city streets also being the 800th race in the history of the F1 World Championship.

The Singapore race will be the first ever F1 race to run under lights around the new 5.067km and aside from trying to take their place as the first driver to win an F1 'night race', the field will also look to ink their name in the record books as the winner of the 800th event.

So far, 100 drivers have tasted F1 victory, going from Giuseppe Farina at Silverstone back in 1950 right through to Heikki Kovalainen in Hungary earlier this year. Italy and American have both had 15 different race winners, although in the case of the USA, ten of those came while the Indy 500 was part of the F1 championship calendar.

In terms of overall drivers, Michael Schumacher is easily the most successful driver, with 91 wins and seven world titles during his illustrious career.

So far, the 'century' races in F1's history have been won by seven drivers from seven different countries, with the likes of Lewis Hamilton, Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen now hoping to add their name to the list.

Key F1 race winners:

1. Giuseppe Farina 1950
100. Sir Stirling Moss 1961
200. Sir Jackie Stewart 1971
300. Ronnie Peterson 1978
400. Niki Lauda 1984
500. Nelson Piquet 1990
600. Jacques Villeneuve 1997
700. Giancarlo Fisichella 2003
800. ???? 2008

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Singapore`s Esplanade Skyline at night [Pic credit: Kenny Pek, Piccom]
George Russell, Mercedes junior programme, [Credit: Mercedes]
Kevin Magnussen - Haas F1 Team [credit: Haas F1 Team]
Valtteri Bottas, Nico Rosberg
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes AMG Petronas
Motorsport in 30 Seconds, 11th January 2017
Ayrton Senna - McLaren. 1993 Donington Park
Nico Hulkenberg - Renault Sport F1
Renault Formula One Team, launch date, [Credit: Renault F1]
Force India reveals the launch date for its 2017 F1 challenge
Nigel Mansell - McLaren-Mercedes
Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas
M-Sport reveals its Ford Fiesta RS WRC challenger
Who will replace Nico Rosberg at Mercedes?
Who will replace Nico Rosberg at Mercedes?

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.