The FIA has released a revised version of the 2009 Formula One calendar following a meeting of the World Motorsport Council in Paris, which no longer features the Canadian Grand Prix.

The provisional calendar released back in June by the governing body contained 19 dates, with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at the new Yas Island circuit being the one addition to the 2008 schedule.

However, the Canadian race - which was due to be held on the 7 June - has now been dropped from the calendar to leave F1 with an 18 race schedule.

It will mark the first time since 1987 that Canada hasn't featured on the F1 calendar, with the country having hosted a world championship race for all bar two years since 1967. The decision to drop Canada also means there will be no race in North America next year, with the American Grand Prix having already lost its slot on the calendar.

Aside from the removal of the Canadian race, there are other changes to the schedule previously announced, the biggest being a move for the Turkish Grand Prix from August to the date previously held by the race at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve; thereby creating a summer break between the Hungarian and European Grands Prix.

The dates have also changed for both the Belgian and Italian races, with the Spa event moving from a previously announced 13 September to 30 August - going back-to-back with Valencia - while Monza moves from 6 September to fill Spa's old slot.

The revised 2009 calendar is as follows - the 2008 one is shown after for easy comparison...

2009 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

29 March Australia Albert Park
5 April Malaysia Sepang
19 April Bahrain Bahrain
10 May Spain Catalunya
24 May Monaco Monte Carlo
7 June Turkey Istanbul
21 June Great Britain Silverstone
28 June France Magny-Cours
12 July Germany Nurburgring
26 July Hungary Hungaroring
23 August Europe Valencia
30 August Belgium Spa
13 September Italy Monza
27 September Singapore Singapore
11 October Japan Suzuka
18 October China Shanghai
1 November Brazil Interlagos
15 November Abu Dhabi Yas Island

2008 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

16 March Australia Albert Park
23 March Malaysia Sepang
6 April Bahrain Bahrain
27 April Spain Catalunya
11 May Turkey Istanbul
25 May Monaco Monte Carlo
08 June Canada Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
22 June France Magny Cours
06 July Britain Silverstone
20 July Germany Hockenheim
03 August Hungary Hungaroring
24 August Europe Valencia
07 September Italy Monza
14 September Belgium Spa
28 September Singapore Singapore
12 October China Shanghai
19 October Japan Fuji
2 November Brazil Interlagos


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment