Did the stewards get Maldonado, Hamilton penalties right?


Pastor Maldonado and Lewis Hamilton were both punished following their clash today in qualifying for Sunday's F1 2011 Belgian GP, with the former getting a five-place grid penalty, while the latter got a reprimand.

The spat between the two occurred at the end of Q2, when Maldonado appeared to swerve into Hamilton as they exited La Source on the slowing down lap.

Moments earlier the two had banged wheels at the Bus Stop with Lewis squeezing by on his final flying lap.

Hamilton subsequently said it was 'fortunate that neither of us flipped it or had a big, big crash', while Maldonado said it was a 'difficult moment' and he 'didn't know what really happened' [see separate story - click here].

The stewards though later ruled that both drivers were guilty of having caused a collision and were 'involved in an incident as defined by Article 16.1 of the 2011 FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations'. However despite that, differing punishments were dealt out.

So what did you think of the ruling? Did the stewards get it right?

Have your say now...


Did the stewards get Maldonado, Hamilton penalties right?






Sorry, this poll has now closed, to view the results click here.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.