F1 »

Turkey 2007: Massa wins, Hamilton tyres out.

Felipe Massa did exactly what he had vowed to do in the 2007 Turkish Grand Prix, sealing his second successive Istanbul triumph to launch both himself and Ferrari back into the world championship fight.

As last year when he stormed to his maiden Formula 1 success ahead of Michael Schumacher, the Brazilian was flawless in the Turkish heat, seeing off the challenge of team-mate Kimi Raikkonen to prevail on a day when everything it seemed could go wrong for McLaren did.

With the four championship contenders looking evenly-matched on the front two rows of the grid and the world title fight balanced on a knife-edge with only six races remaining, the race was always going to be a high-drama affair. So it was to prove.

Indeed, David Coulthard was in trouble even before it had got underway, with gearbox issues on the warm-up lap round to the grid, but his woes were nothing as compared to those of the two McLaren drivers when the lights went out, with both suffering from being on the dirty side of the grid.

As Massa led away from pole, Raikkonen from row two sling-shot past Lewis Hamilton into second place but it was Fernando Alonso who really lost out, being passed by both the BMW-Saubers to drop back down to sixth. A little further back, Jarno Trulli got nudged into a spin by the slow-starting Renault of countryman Giancarlo Fisichella heading into turn one, but luckily the rest of the pack somehow managed to avoid the rotating Toyota and Jarno lived to fight another day, albeit now all the way down in last place.

By the end of the opening lap alone Alonso was already a staggering 3.5 seconds down on the leading Ferraris, and clearly determined to get past Nick Heidfeld, as evinced by him coming perilously close to losing it as he pushed just a little too hard on lap three.

The two scarlet machines, meanwhile, were separated by barely a second and continuing to edge clear of Hamilton at the front, with Raikkonen sitting in formation behind his Brazilian team-mate. Further down the order, Heikki Kovalainen, Nico Rosberg and the twin Red Bull Racing cars of Coulthard – betraying none of its earlier gearbox woes – and Mark Webber completed the early top ten.

On lap ten, however, it was Webber and not Coulthard who would encouter problems, running off-piste as a result of a hydraulic problem and touring into the pit-lane at the end of the lap and into inevitable retirement – the fifth of 2007 for the luckless Australian.

Robert Kubica was the first driver to blink when it came round to the proper pit-stops, coming in at the end of lap 13 in a move that perhaps betrayed his true qualifying pace, while team-mate Heidfeld continued to frustrate Alonso's ambitions, the Spaniard at times lapping more than a second slower than the Ferrari duo trapped in the BMW's dirty air.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2007 Turkish Grand Prix podium finishers: [L-R] Kimi Raikkonen (2nd), Felipe Massa (1st) and Fernando Alonso (3rd)
Ferrari`s Felipe Massa celebrates triumphing in the 2007 Turkish Grand Prix - the Brazilian`s second successive victory in Istanbul
Start, Turkish F1, Istanbul Park, 24th-26th August, 2007
29.09.2016 - Sebastian Vettel (GER) Scuderia Ferrari SF16-H
29.09.2016 - Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB12
29.09.2016 - Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR11
29.09.2016 - Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR11
29.09.2016 - Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull Racing RB12
29.09.2016 - Eric Boullier (FRA) McLaren Racing Director
29.09.2016 - Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W07 Hybrid and Jean Alesi (FRA)
29.09.2016 - Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W07 Hybrid
29.09.2016 - Press conference, (L-R) Esteban Ocon (FRA) Manor Racing MRT05, Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Sahara Force India F1 VJM09, Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Scuderia Toro Rosso STR11, Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W07 Hybrid, Jenson Button (GBR)  McLaren Honda MP4-31 and Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams FW38
29.09.2016 - Press conference, Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes AMG F1 W07 Hybrid and Jenson Button (GBR)  McLaren Honda MP4-31
29.09.2016 - Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Renault Sport F1 Team RS16
29.09.2016 - Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Renault Sport F1 Team RS16
29.09.2016 - Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Manor Racing MRT05
29.09.2016 - Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams FW38
29.09.2016 - Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams FW38 and Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber C34

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.