F1 »

Brazil 2008: Last lap agony and ecstasy.

Lewis Hamilton is the youngest Formula 1 World Champion in history after the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos – but up until the very last corner of the very last lap, the crown was going the way of Ferrari rival Felipe Massa.

The McLaren-Mercedes star entered the final tour in only sixth place, and when Massa took the chequered flag to win at the end of 71 incredible laps the Brazilian was indeed world champion – but that elation would last only a matter of seconds.

With high humidity in the air and black clouds looming, rain remained an ever-present threat ahead of the start. What's more, given the tight, funnelling nature of the first corner and memories of 2007 still fresh in people's minds, tensions in the build-up to the race were running very – no, extremely – high.

Then, the first drama struck, barely minutes before the lights were due to go out – as the rain arrived, almost with divine intervention, and with a vengeance. A delayed start was called to allow for tyre changes, but no sooner had the heavens opened than they closed up again, and the strength of the sun began to dry the track out once more – leaving the teams with quite a dilemma and, for Hamilton and Massa, a world championship at stake.

With the main straight and Senna 'S' still distinctly wet, but other parts of the circuit bone dry, knowing which tyre to choose became a real headache. As the field eventually peeled away for its warm-up lap, though, the leading contenders all did so on intermediates – with Robert Kubica in the BMW-Sauber the only dissenter, the Pole aiming to turn an unlucky 13th on the grid into a luckier finish, but rapidly changing his mind at the end of the formation lap as he pitted for a change of rubber.

A textbook getaway from the front row saw Massa lead Jarno Trulli into turn one, from Kimi Raikkonen and Hamilton, with Heikki Kovalainen in the sister McLaren playing the perfect team role by slotting in as his rear-gunner just behind, though the Finn would subsequently lose out to both Scuderia Toro Rosso's Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso in the Renault later around the opening tour.

No sooner had that happened, though, than the safety car was deployed, for a smash in the middle of the pack initiated by Williams' Nico Rosberg, involving rookie team-mate Kazuki Nakajima and that removed home hero Nelsinho Piquet and – most cruelly of all – David Coulthard from the fray. In the Red Bull Racing ace's very last grand prix, it was a particularly unjust way for the popular Scot to bring down the curtain on his successful 15-year career in the top flight.

That left the order behind the safety car Massa from Trulli, Raikkonen, Hamilton, Vettel, Alonso, Kovalainen, Sébastien Bourdais, Timo Glock and Mark Webber. As the action resumed Massa made sure of scampering away, as Giancarlo Fisichella in the Force India pitted to change tyres onto slicks and Kovalainen and Alonso duelled energetically and entertainingly over sixth place.

As Massa began to pull clear from Trulli, Hamilton seemed to be slipping into Vettel's clutches, making it even more pivotal for McLaren that Kovalainen get by Alonso to protect the sister Silver Arrow.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren MP4-23 Is Champion, Brazilian F1 Grand Prix, Interlagos, 30th October 2008-2nd, November, 2008
John Watson driving the McLaren MP4B at the 1982 Caesars Palace Grand Prix, Las Vegas
Guy Moll at the 1934 Grand Prix Automobile de Montreux   [pic credit:Agence de presse Meurisse/Bibliothèque nationale de France]
2014 FIA European F3 champion Esteban Ocon is to test with Lotus F1
12.10.2014- Race, Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren Mercedes MP4-29
12.10.2014- Race, the start
12.10.2014- Race, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Infiniti Red Bull Racing RB10
12.10.2014- Vitaly Mutko (RUS) Minister of Sport of the Russian Federation
12.10.2014- Race, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Scuderia Ferrari F14T
12.10.2014- Race, Kevin Magnussen (DEN) McLaren Mercedes MP4-29
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05 in the press conference after the race
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05 celebrates Manufactor title of Mercedes with the team
12.10.2014- Race, Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus F1 Team E22
12.10.2014- Race, Fernando Alonso (ESP) Scuderia Ferrari F14T
12.10.2014-  Sebastian Vettel (GER) Infiniti Red Bull Racing RB10 with a fan
12.10.2014- Fabiana Flosi (BRA)
12.10.2014- Race, Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W05
12.10.2014- Max Chilton (GBR), Marussia F1 Team MR03 and all the Marussia F1 Team show a panel for Jules Bianchi (FRA) Marussia F1 Team MR03

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.