Mark Webber's penalty for running out of fuel in the second part of qualifying for the F1 Chinese Grand Prix means that he will start from the back of the grid, while those drivers who qualified from 15th place down all gain a position for the start of Sunday's race in Shanghai.

Lewis Hamilton will start from pole position, his 27th pole position since his d?but in 2007 and the 49th time that he's started from the front row of the grid in 113 Grand Prix outings. It's his first pole for new team Mercedes.

Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen starts alongside him in China, his first appearance on the front row of a starting grid in F1 since Monaco in 2009 when he was driving for Ferrari.

Revised starting grid

Row 1
1. Lewis Hamilton Britain Mercedes-Mercedes
2. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Lotus-Renault

Row 2
3. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari
4. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes

Row 3
5. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari
6. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault

Row 4
7. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Toro Rosso-Ferrari
8. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes

Row 5
9. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault
10. Nico H?lkenberg Germany Sauber-Ferrari

Row 6
11. Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes
12. Sergio Perez Mexico McLaren-Mercedes

Row 7
13. Adrian Sutil Germany Force India-Mercedes
14. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault

Row 8
15. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Ferrari
16. Valtteri Bottas Finland Williams-Renault

Row 9
17. Esteban Guti?rrez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari
18. Jules Bianchi France Marussia-Cosworth

Row 10
19. Max Chilton Britain Marussia-Cosworth
20. Charles Pic France Caterham-Renault

Row 11
21. Giedo van der Garde Netherlands Caterham-Renault
22. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment