F1 »

Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona - Starting grid

Penalties for Felipe Massa and Esteban Gutiérrez mean a reshuffle of the starting grid toward both the top and the bottom of the running order.
Felipe Massa and Esteban Gutiérrez have both been handed three-place starting grid penalties for Sunday's 2013 F1 Grand Prix of Spain. (See separate story.)

Massa originally qualified in sixth place putting him alongside his Ferrari team mate Fernando Alonso for the start of tomorrow's race in Barcelona, Spain. The penalty will push him down to ninth place where he will start alongside Force India's Paul di Resta.

Romain Grosjean will now start alongside Alonso on row three, while Mark Webber and Sergio Perez also gain a position apiece as a result of Massa's drop and will consequently start alongside each other on row four.

Having qualified in 16th place, Esteban Gutiérrez's penalty drops the Sauber driver down to 19th place behind the two Williams cars of Valtteri Bottas and Pastor Maldonado and also the Caterham of Giedo van der Garde. He'll start alongside Marussia's Jules Bianchi on the penultimate row of the grid on Sunday.

Revised starting grid

Row 1
1. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes
2. Lewis Hamilton Britain Mercedes-Mercedes

Row 2
3. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault
4. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Lotus-Renault

Row 3
5. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari
6. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault

Row 4
7. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault
8. Sergio Perez Mexico McLaren-Mercedes

Row 5
9. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari *
10. Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes

Row 6
11. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Toro Rosso-Ferrari
12. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Ferrari

Row 7
13. Adrian Sutil Germany Force India-Mercedes
14. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes

Row 8
15. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Sauber-Ferrari
16. Valtteri Bottas Finland Williams-Renault

Row 9
17. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault
18. Giedo van der Garde Holland Caterham-Renault

Row 10
19. Esteban Gutiérrez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari *
20. Jules Bianchi France Marussia-Cosworth

Row 11
21. Max Chilton Britain Marussia-Cosworth
22. Charles Pic France Caterham-Renault

* Denotes three-place grid penalty for impeding during qualifying

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
13.05.2012- Race, Start of the race
13.05.2012- Race, Start of the race
11.05.2013- Qualifying, Fans
11.05.2013- Qualifying, Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB9
Nobuharu Matsushita, ART Grand Prix, Sauber, F1 [Credit: Honda Racing]
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber C36
Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari SF70H
Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari SF70H

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.