F3 »

Joe Tandy killed in car accident

Joe Tandy, the boss of the JTR Formula Three and Formula Ford team, has died after being involved in a road accident on Wednesday [13 May].

Tandy was one of two people travelling in a BMW when it was involved in a collision with a lorry box van near Bromham shortly after lunchtime.

Despite the best efforts of paramedics, Tandy was declared dead at the scene, while the second person travelling in the car, family friend Luke Temple, was airlifted to Addenbrooke's Hospital in Cambridge with serious injuries.

The lorry driver was taken to South Wing Hospital with minor injuries.

Tandy enjoyed success at both National and World Championship level in the Ministox Series before moving into the Mini Se7en Challenge from 2001-03 and the TVR Tuscan Challenge in 2004.

Having also secured a role with the Palmersport company run by Jonathan Palmer, Tandy climbed through the ranks from the role of technician up to chief mechanic by the age of 22.

An impressive test at the wheel of a Formula Palmer Audi car at Bedford – which saw him break the lap record held by current IndyCar and ex-F1 racer Justin Wilson – led to Tandy contesting the 2005 FPA Championship, with six wins and five further podiums carrying him to the title.

At the end of the season, Tandy was also nominated as a finalist for the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year award – which was eventually won by Oliver Jarvis.

Tandy turned his focus to that of team owner in 2006 when he created the Joe Tandy Racing team, which went on to establish itself as a firm front-runner in Formula Ford during the 2007 campaign with numerous race wins.

In 2008, a new partnership with Mygale saw the team move into the British F3 International Series with a single car for Tandy's younger brother Nick – who finished the campaign in ninth place after a year which saw the team make impressive progress and secure three podium finishes.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Joe Tandy
Jake Hughes, HitechGP, Euro F3 [Credit: HitechGP]
Jehan Daruvala, Carlin, Force India [Credit: Carlin]
Ferdinand Habsburg, Carlin, Euro F3
Antonio Felix da Costa - Carlin [credit: Macau GP / ID ]
Antonio Felix da Costa - Carlin [credit: Macau GP / GCS ]
George Russell - HitchGP [credit: Macau Grand Prix/ID/Jamie Price Photography]
Antonio Felix da Costa, Carlin, F3 Macau GP, [Credit: Carlin media]
TV cameraman
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.