F3 »

JTR vows to race on

The JTR team has vowed to continue with its racing programmes in British Formula Ford and the British F3 International Series following the death of team leader Joe Tandy in a car accident on Wednesday.

Tandy was killed when his car was in collision with a box van near Bromham, while his fiancee's brother, Luke Temple - who was travelling with the 26-year-old - also died due to the injuries he sustained in the accident.

Tandy had formed JTR back in 2006, and after firmly establishing the team in Formula Ford, then moved into British F3 last season after going into partnership with French chassis manufacturer Mygale.

Following a solid debut campaign running a single car for Tandy's younger brother Nick, the team has been tipped as one of the favourites for honours this year after a solid pre-season, with Nick second in the standings to Carlin's Daniel Ricciardo after four races.

Despite the shock of losing its leading light, JTR has vowed to continue to race on Tandy's memory with the team having 'absolute determination to move forward as he would have wanted'.

“Joe's loss is an immense blow for the team, and it goes without saying, for his family and friends,” a spokesman for the team said. “All we wish to communicate at this stage is our sense of loss, and our absolute determination to move forward with both the JTR Formula 3 and Formula Ford teams, exactly as Joe would have wanted.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Joe Tandy
Joel Eriksson, Motopark, Euro F3 [Credit: Motopark]
Ben Barnicoat, Hitech GP, Euro F3 [Credit: Racing Steps]
Harison Newey, Van Amersfoort Racing [Credit: Van Amersfoort]
Nikita Mazepin
Nikita Mazepin
Nikita Mazepin
Ralf Aron, Euro F3, Prema [Credit: Prema Powerteam]
George Russell, Hitech GP, Euro F3 [Credit: Hitech GP]
Pedro Piquet, Van Amersfoort Racing, Euro F3, [Credit: Euro F3]
Euro F3 grid, Rosenqvist, Dennis, Giovinazzi, Nurburgring [Credit: XPB]
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam, Euro F3, [Credit: XPB]
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam, Euro F3, [Credit: XPB]
Nick Cassidy, Prema Powerteam, EURO F3, [Credit: Prema Powerteam]
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam Carlin, Euro F3 [Credit: XPB]
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam Carlin, Euro F3 [Credit: XPB]
Matheus Leist (BRZ), Double R Racing, Euro F3, [Credit: Double R]
Jake Dennis (GBR) Racing Steps Foundation

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.