F3 »

Ricciardo secures fourth pole

Championship leader Daniel Ricciardo will start the 15th round of the Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series from pole position after a masterclass performance in qualifying for the opening race of the weekend

Five of the 20-year-old Australian's laps were good enough for the pole, and he set the benchmark at 1m 14.783s, nearly two-tenths of a second than his closest rival; Carlin team-mate Max Chilton.

It marked the fourth pole of the season for Ricciardo, as he seeks to extend his championship lead.

"That's just the way I wanted to start the weekend," he said. "Hopefully I can do the same again in the second qualifying session and then go on to get a good haul of points in the races."

Ricciardo's closest championship challenger, Austrian Walter Grubmuller, will start from fourth on the grid, behind his Hitech team-mate Renger van der Zande. Raikkonen Robertson racer Carlos Huertas was fifth fastest.

Brazil's Gabriel Dias won the National Class pole battle, pipping points leader Daniel McKenzie by two-tenths of a second.

Championship newcomers Michele Faccin and Adil Hermanto both impressed on their debut; Italian Faccin outpaced his Team West-Tec team-mate Max Snegirev, while Indonesia's Hermanto achieved a similar feat in his Litespeed SLC to finish ahead of his team-mate, Victor Correa.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) - Carlin Motorsport Dallara Volkswagen
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, [Credit: Antonio Giovinazzi]
Charles Leclerc, Euro F3 [Credit: European Formula 3 Championship]
Charles Leclerc, Euro F3 [Credit: Charles Leclerc website]
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, [Credit: Formula 3 European Championship]
George Russell, Carlin, Euro F3 [Credit: Formula 3 European Championship]
Matt Rao (GBR), Team Fortec Motorsport [Credit: Fortec Motorsport]
Pietro Fittipaldi (BRA), Fortec Motorsport [Credit: Fortec Motorsport]
Pietro Fittipaldi (BRA), Fortec Motorsport [Credit: Fortec Motorsport]
Fabian Schiller (GER), Team West-Tec F3 [Credit: Schiller]
Arjun Miani (IND), Van Amersfoort Racing [Credit: arjunmaini36.com]
Sergio Sette Camara [Credit: Motopark]
Tatiana Calderon [Credit: Carlin]
Mahaveer Raghunathan, Motopark Euro F3 [Credit: Motopark]
Markus Pommer Motopark [Credit: Markus Pommer]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.