F3 »

Euro F3: Blomqvist, Ocon share Silverstone poles

Tom Blomqvist claims pole position for the first European F3 race of the season, but Esteban Ocon gets the edge for races two and three.
Tom Blomqvist and Esteban Ocon have secured the pole positions for the three races that mark the opening round of the 2014 FIA European Formula 3 Championship at Silverstone

Sharing the bill with the World Endurance Championship, the European F3 Championship kicks off with a blend of fairly experienced drivers and a raft of newcomers, many of which looked set to steal the limelight as qualifying for the weekend's three races got underway.

Nonetheless, it was one of the more experienced drivers, Blomqvist that would emerge best in qualifying for the opening race, the British driver impressing on home soil in his Volkswagen-powered Jagonya Ayam Carlin machine to defeat Ocon by just 0.002secs.

However, series newcomer Ocon would hit back in the second bout of qualifying, claiming pole position for the second race of the weekend for defending champions Prema, while his second-best lap also meant he would claim pole for race three.

Ocon's team-mate Antonio Fuoco heads up row two for race one, alongside Max Verstappen, the Dutchman impressing despite not quite being able to match his pace setting practice performance ahead of what will be his first weekend in car racing.

Felix Serralles will start fifth, ahead of Jordan King, while Ed Jones makes it three British drivers well inside the top ten for the opener.

In race two, Canadian Nicholas Latifi makes it a Prema 1-2 on the grid, with Blomqvist and Fuoco on row two, while Antonio Giovanazzi was a big improver between sessions, grabbing fifth on the grid having only been 12th in the first session. He shares row three with Verstappen.

For race three, Ocon made it a double pole position thanks to his second-best time, ahead of Fuoco, Blomqvist, Latifi, Verstappen and Giovanazzi.

Tagged as: F3 , Blomqvist , Ocon

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tom Blomqvist - Jagonya Ayam Carlin [pic credit: F3 Euro]
Tom Blomqvist - Jagonya Ayam Carlin [pic credit: F3 Euro]
Tom Blomqvist - Jagonya Ayam Carlin [pic credit: F3 Euro]
Joel Eriksson, Motopark, Euro F3 [Credit: Motopark]
Ben Barnicoat, Hitech GP, Euro F3 [Credit: Racing Steps]
Harison Newey, Van Amersfoort Racing [Credit: Van Amersfoort]
Nikita Mazepin
Nikita Mazepin
Nikita Mazepin
Ralf Aron, Euro F3, Prema [Credit: Prema Powerteam]
George Russell, Hitech GP, Euro F3 [Credit: Hitech GP]
Pedro Piquet, Van Amersfoort Racing, Euro F3, [Credit: Euro F3]
Euro F3 grid, Rosenqvist, Dennis, Giovinazzi, Nurburgring [Credit: XPB]
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam, Euro F3, [Credit: XPB]
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam, Euro F3, [Credit: XPB]
Nick Cassidy, Prema Powerteam, EURO F3, [Credit: Prema Powerteam]
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam Carlin, Euro F3 [Credit: XPB]
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam Carlin, Euro F3 [Credit: XPB]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.