F3 »

Alguersuari wins to take title.

Jaime Alguersuari is the 2008 British Formula 3 Champion after sealing the title with his second victory of the day at Donington Park.

Overhauling a 12-point disadvantage at the start of the weekend, the Spaniard pulled the gap back to just three points heading into the final race of the season following a lights-to-flag triumph in the first event.

With Turvey starting down in 14th position and ideally needing to beat Alguersuari on the road, it was little surprise to see the title go the way of the Red Bull backed youngster who, at 18-years-old, also becomes the youngest winner in the series' long history.

Even so, Alguersuari did it in style, getting the jump on pole sitter Oliver Oakes to lead into the first corner and simply pull away from his rivals.

Eventually he would win by just over four seconds, while Turvey failed to make the finish when he lost out in dispute over sixth position with three laps remaining.

As such, second place fell to Nick Tandy, who proved he will be hot property this winter by hauling the sole Mygale car, run by the little fancied JTR team, up to his best result of the season. He was also the only driver to ever get close to Alguersuari's searing pace.

Sergio Perez consolidated his role as the best non-Carlin driver in the overall standings by completing the podium, the Mexican driver – who is tipped to make his GP2 debut in China next weekend – holding off Dean Smith for the position.

F3 debutant Smith was once again in fine form to complete his second fourth place finish of the day. Interestingly, he scored more points in one race than Fortec's other driver – Philip Major – managed all season.

Carlin's fourth driver Sam Abay enjoyed a strong end to the season in fifth, while Oliver Oakes managed to hold onto sixth place having enjoyed his moment in the sun with a pole position start. Young Marcus Ericsson, meanwhile, sneaked fifth place in the standings from Atte Mustonen with seventh place at the chequered flag.

Jay Bridger won the final National Class race of the season with a fine eighth overall, ahead of Henry Surtees, who capped off a fine F3 debut in ninth. His former Formula BMW rival Henry Arundel rounded out the top ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jaime Alguersuari (ESP) - Carlin Motorsport Dallara Mercedes
Jake Hughes, HitechGP, Euro F3 [Credit: HitechGP]
Jehan Daruvala, Carlin, Force India [Credit: Carlin]
Ferdinand Habsburg, Carlin, Euro F3
Antonio Felix da Costa - Carlin [credit: Macau GP / ID ]
Antonio Felix da Costa - Carlin [credit: Macau GP / GCS ]
George Russell - HitchGP [credit: Macau Grand Prix/ID/Jamie Price Photography]
Antonio Felix da Costa, Carlin, F3 Macau GP, [Credit: Carlin media]
TV cameraman
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.