F3 »

Carlin double up with second Ricciardo win

Daniel Ricciardo secured his second win of the weekend at Oulton Park to establish the early championship lead in the Cooper Tires British F3 International Series.

Ricciardo made the perfect start to the race to take victory ahead of pole-sitter Walter Grubmuller and JTR's Nick Tandy, adding to his victory in race one earlier in the day.

The initial start had seen the Australian jump ahead of Grubmuller on the way down to Old Hall, but the race would soon be stopped after an accident involving T-Sport pairing Wayne Boyd and Gabriel Dias exiting turn one. Boyd got wide onto the grass and spun, and then collected his team's National Class runner – with Dias' car rolling over and bringing out the red flags.

With both drivers escaping uninjured, unlike their cars, the field lined up for the restart and Ricciardo once again got the jump on Grubmuller to secure a lead he wasn't to lose; the Carlin man quickly building an advantage in the opening lap and coming home just over two and half seconds clear of Grubmuller.

The Austrian, who had finished third in race one, clinched a double podium for Hitech as he was able to maintain an advantage over Tandy, who also took his second podium of the weekend with third place after battling past Max Chilton in the opening laps.

Chilton ended up with fourth place to make amends somewhat for his error in race one when he jumped the start and ultimately picked up a penalty that would leave him at the back of the field, while Daisuke Nakajima held off Riki Christodoulou to take fifth.

Adriano Buzaid was seventh for T-Sport ahead of Carlin pair Oli Oakes and Henry Arundel, while the top ten was completed by Victor Garcia, despite the best efforts of Hywel Lloyd to find a way past through the final laps.

Daniel McKenzie once again took the National Class honours ahead of Max Snegirev, with Victor Correa rounding out the podium for Litespeed.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) - Carlin Motorsport Dallara Volkswagen
Jake Hughes, HitechGP, Euro F3 [Credit: HitechGP]
Jehan Daruvala, Carlin, Force India [Credit: Carlin]
Ferdinand Habsburg, Carlin, Euro F3
Antonio Felix da Costa - Carlin [credit: Macau GP / ID ]
Antonio Felix da Costa - Carlin [credit: Macau GP / GCS ]
George Russell - HitchGP [credit: Macau Grand Prix/ID/Jamie Price Photography]
Antonio Felix da Costa, Carlin, F3 Macau GP, [Credit: Carlin media]
TV cameraman
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing
Dan Ticktum (GBR) Double R Racing

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.