Crash.Net F1 News

F1 2010 driver salaries revealed – who earns most?

20 August 2010

The annual list of F1 salaries has again been published, with two world champions topping the list and a driver who is not even competing on the grand prix grid this year – coming in at third place.

The report – published by Spanish newspaper El Mundo and citing information compiled by Business Book GP – revealed that Ferrari star Fernando Alonso is on a retainer of some €30 million, supplemented by his external endorsements.

That is almost twice the salary that the Oviedo native's former team-mate and sworn rival currently Lewis Hamilton earns at McLaren-Mercedes, whose €16 million pay packet is virtually the same as what World Rally Championship convert Kimi Raikkonen is receiving as the Finn continues to benefit handsomely indeed from his early Ferrari pay-off.

Next up is Felipe Massa on €14 million – notably, less than half of what team-mate Alonso is on – with defending F1 World Champion Jenson Button fifth on €9 million, just ahead of Mercedes Grand Prix's Michael Schumacher, whose €8 million remuneration is arguably generous indeed for the comparatively poor on-track return that the German legend has provided on his desperately disappointing comeback to active competition thus far this year.

In a laudable policy of equality, however, Schumacher's team-mate Nico Rosberg is on exactly the same retainer with Renault F1's Robert Kubica – in many observers' eyes, the star of the season to-date – on €7.5 million.

A significant surprise if the findings are accurate, is that both Williams' ultra-experienced veteran Rubens Barrichello is on more money at €5.5 million than either current world championship leader Mark Webber or Sebastian Vettel at Red Bull Racing, with the Australian perhaps similarly unexpectedly receiving more than the German with €4.2 million to €2 million – though both are understood to be on substantial bonus agreements for every victory notched up.

Lotus Racing's Jarno Trulli also outpoints Vettel in the basic salary stakes on €3 million, with team-mate Heikki Kovalainen on a basic retainer of around €2 million, Timo Glock for fellow F1 2010 newcomer Virgin Racing on €1 million and Williams rookie Nico Hülkenberg on €700,000.

Bringing up the rear of the list are Sauber duo Pedro de la Rosa and Kamui Kobayashi on €500,000 apiece, Renault's Vitaly Petrov and Scuderia Toro Rosso pairing Jaime Alguersuari and Sébastien Buemi on €400,000 each and Force India's Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Liuzzi and Virgin new boy Lucas di Grassi all on €200,000. The final 'paid' driver, Hispania Racing's Bruno Senna, is on just €150,000 – or, to put it into perspective, roughly 200 times less than Alonso.

The figures make Ferrari comfortably the highest spender of the year in terms of driver expense, with (€60 million) or without (€44 million) Raikkonen taken into consideration, as the full list below shows. The ranking on the far right is current championship position.


1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari €30m 5th
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes €16m 2nd
3. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari €16m N/A
4. Felipe Massa Ferrari €14m 6th
5. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes €9m 4th
6. Michael Schumacher Mercedes Grand Prix €8m 9th
7. Nico Rosberg Mercedes Grand Prix €8m 7th
8. Robert Kubica Renault F1 €7.5m 8th
9. Rubens Barrichello Williams F1 €5.5m 11th
10. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing €4.2m 1st
11. Jarno Trulli Lotus Racing €3m 19th=
12. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing €2m 3rd
13. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Racing €2m 19th=
14. Timo Glock Virgin Racing €1m 19th=
15. Nico Hülkenberg Williams F1 €700,000 15th
16. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber €500,000 17th
17. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber €500,000 12th=
18. Vitaly Petrov Renault F1 €400,000 12th=
19. Jaime Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso €400,000 18th
20. Sébastien Buemi Scuderia Toro Rosso €400,000 16th
21. Adrian Sutil Force India F1 €200,000 10th
22. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India F1 €200,000 14th
23. Lucas Di Grassi Virgin Racing €200,000 19th=
24. Bruno Senna Hispania Racing €150,000 19th=
25. Karun Chandhok Hispania Racing €Nil 19th=
26. Sakon Yamamoto Hispania Racing €Nil 19th =


1. Ferrari €60m 3rd
2. McLaren-Mercedes €25m 2nd
3. Mercedes Grand Prix €16m 4th
4. Renault F1 €7.9m 5th
5. Red Bull Racing €6.2m 1st
6. Williams F1 €6.2m 7th
7. Lotus Racing €5m 10th=
8. Virgin Racing €1.2m 10th=
9. Sauber €1m 8th
10. Scuderia Toro Rosso €800,000 9th
11. Force India F1 €400,000 6th
12. Hispania Racing €150,000 10th=

To compare to the 2009 salaries, click here