FR3.5 »

Barba takes charge in Valencia

Marco Barba gave the new-look Draco team its first stint at the top of the timesheets in 2009 as the second wave of World Series by Renault testing came to an end at Valencia.

With the latest Draco machine decked out in their new Force India inspired livery, Barba recovered from brake issues during the morning session to set a scintillating pace around his home circuit in the afternoon.

The only driver to slip beneath 1min 22secs, Barba was delighted with his good form ahead of his second season with the Italian team.

“We'd been encountering brake problems from the beginning of this morning. We changed quite a few things and the car was very good this afternoon. I went on the attack and I got the fastest time! I won my bet with Adriano Morini.

“At Jerez, like here in Valencia, we worked hard on the set-ups. We will concentrate more on the cars' behaviour in race conditions in Barcelona.”

A good session for the local Spanish contingent, four of their drivers assumed positions inside the top five, with Barba being followed by Pons' sophomore contender Marcos Martinez, while potential Epsilon Euskadi signing Adrian Valles and Ultimate's Miguel Molina followed in fourth and fifth position.

James Walker was the only driver to usurp the Spanish stronghold, the Brit showing well again in last year's title winning P1 Motorsport car to set the quickest time in the morning session and go third best in the afternoon.

Barba's team-mate Bertrand Baguette was sixth best, ahead of day one pace setter Charles Pic. Oliver Turvey was eighth fastest in the Racing Steps Foundation-liveried Carlin car to be the top rookie, ahead of Chris van der Drift and Alexandre Marsoin, the Frenchman giving Comtec their first top ten showing of the week.

Day 2 testing results from Valencia - 15th March 2009

1. Marco Barba Draco 1min 21.978secs
2. Marcos Martinez Pons 1min 22.018secs
3. James Walker P1 1min 22.023secs
4. Adrian Valles Epsilon Euskadi 1min 22.027secs
5. Miguel Molina USR 1min 22.170secs
6. Bertrand Baguette Draco 1min 22.216secs
7. Charles Pic Tech 1 1min 22.264secs
8. Oliver Turvey Carlin 1min 22.331secs
9. Chris van der Drift Epsilon Euskadi 1min 22.344secs
10. Alexandre Marsoin Comtec 1min 22.427secs
11. Greg Mansell USR 1min 22.514secs
12. Jaime Alguersuari Carlin 1min 22.522secs
13. Tobias Hegewald Interwetten 1min 22.701secs
14. Edoardo Piscopo Prema 1min 22.823secs
15. Sten Pentus Fortec 1min 22.928secs
16. Fairuz Fauzy Fortec 1min 23.036secs
17. Anton Nebylitski Comtec 1min 23.079secs
18. Federico Leo Pons 1min 23.183secs
19. Omar Julian Leal Prema 1min 23.425secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Miguel Molina - Ultimate Signature Racing   [pic credit: Renault Sport]
Adrian Valles - Epsilon Euskadi   [pic credit: Renault Sport]
James Walker - P1 Motorsport   [pic credit: Renault Sport]
Marcos Martinez - Pons Racing   [pic credit: Renault Sport]
Marco Barba - Draco Racing   [pic credit: Renault Sport]
Rene Binder, Lotus - Photo credit: Formula V8 3.5 series/RPM Racing
Aurelien Panis - Tech 1 Racing [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Jake Hughes - Photo credit: Jean Michel Le Meur / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Louis Deletraz - Photo credit: Jean Michel Le Meur / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Tom Dillmann - Photo credit: DPPI / Florent Gooden / Renault Sport Media
Tom Dillmann - Photo credit: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
AVF - Photo credit: Sebastiaan Rozendaal / Dutch Photo Agency / LAT Photographic / Renault Sport Media
Carlin Racing - Photo credit: Lorenzo Charlez / AS Media / Renault Sport Media
Yu Kanamaru, Pons Racing - Photo credit: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Oliver Rowland and Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Nyck de Vries (DAMS) - Photo credit: DPPI / Florent Gooden / Renault Sport Media
Jazeman Jaafar - Photo credit: Jean-Michel Le Meur / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Matthieu Vaxiviere and Egor Orudzhev - Photo credit: Jean-Michel Le Meur / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.