FR3.5 »

Circuit de Catalunya: 2014 World Series by Renault calendar announced

Notably absent from the 2014 World Series by Renault calender are the Red Bull Ring and Silverstone.
The World Series by Renault provisional calendar for 2014 has been announced. The drivers will flock to nine circuits throughout the course of the year, starting in Monza and ending their season at the F1 testing ground, Jerez.

Notably absent from the list are Silverstone and the Red Bull Ring in Austria, contradicting much speculation suggesting otherwise. The British circuit, known for its financial hardships, has not played host to the F1 feeder series since 2011 despite being popular with racing fans and drivers alike.

Funded by Red Bull magnate, Dietrich Mateschitz, the Red Bull Ring is a more surprising absentee from the European list. Now secured for the 2014 season as an F1 circuit, the world's most powerful engines prepare to return to a place of great historic significance. Marco Sørensen was the surprise double winner in Austria this year.

In another change to the calendar, the Nurburgring announces its plans to return following a one year break. The classic German circuit is one of the longest running F1 hosts in history.

The Monaco round will, once again, coincide with the F1 weekend making it an exclusively Formula Renault 3.5 event as the latest set of racing hopefuls aim to impress Motorsport's top bosses.

The calendar still remains provisional with the opening round at Monza to be confirmed.

The full 2014 World Series by Renault calendar is as follows, we have also included the 2013 calendar for easy comparison...

2014 World Series by Renault calendar

12-13 April Monza (FR3.5 Series only)*
26-27 April Spain Motorland Aragon
24-25 May Monaco Formula One Grand Prix (FR3.5 Series only)
31 May-1 June Belgium Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps
28-29 June Russia Moscow Raceway
12-13 July Germany Nürburgring
13-14 September Hungary Hungaroring
27-28 September France Circuit Paul Ricard
18-19 October Spain Circuito de Jerez

*To be confirmed

Subject to FIA approval

2013 World Series by Renault calendar

6-7 April Italy Monza
27-28 April Spain Alcañiz
25-26 May Monaco Formula 1 weekend (FR3.5 series only)
1-2 June Belgium Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps
22-23 June Russia Moscow Raceway
20-21 July Austria Red Bull Ring
14-15 September Hungary Hungaroring
28-29 September France Circuit de Paul Ricard
19-20 October Spain Circuit de Catalunya

By Katie Grimmett

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Renault World Series flag [Pic credit: Renault Sport]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.