FR3.5 »

Aragon FR3.5 - Rowland claims dominant pole position

Oliver Rowland's maiden pole position ends defending champions, DAMS' unprecedented run of form.
CLICK HERE to view the qualifying results in full.

Oliver Rowland held off strong opposition to claim his maiden series pole position for race two in Motorland, Aragon.

The Briton, who led most of the thirty minute qualifying session, produced a last-minute 1:39.885 to sit atop the time sheets for Fortec Motorsports. Just two tenths-of-a-second adrift in his International Draco Racing model, Pietro Fantin put his race one troubles behind him to earn a front row grid slot.

Meanwhile, Pierre Gasly produced consistent lap times throughout qualifying to sit third fastest for Arden Motorsport. The Frenchman currently sits third in the overall championship standings in his rookie season. He will be joined on the second row by an improving, Will Stevens who was a further one tenth ahead of championship leader, Carlos Sainz Jr. The Spaniard was unable to continue DAMS' unprecedented run of eight consecutive pole positions; the Red Bull junior sits fifth.

Jazeman Jaafar was the early leader but dropped down to sixth in the latter stages, fighting off a fast finishing, Sergey Sirotkin in the second Fortec challenger. Luca Ghiotto, Marco Sorensen and Zoel Amberg completed the top ten.

Despite his second place finish in race one, Nikolay Martsenko appeared to struggle for pace and the sole Comtec Racing driver finished down the order in twelfth. The Russian will need to pull of some brave overtaking manoeuvres if he is to maintain his second place position in the championship.

For the first time in her short career, Beitske Visser qualified inside the top fifteen for AV Formula but the series rookie was still outpaced by her more experienced team mate, Amberg.

The drivers return to the track for the second race this afternoon. Last year, DAMS dominated proceedings in Aragon but rookie, Rowland hopes to place Fortec Motorsports back atop the podium for the first time this season.
by Katie Grimmett

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Photo: Florent Gooden/ DPPI
Vitor Baptista - RP Motorsport
Pietro Fittipaldi, Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: RPM Media
Louis Deletraz, Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: RPM Racing
Louis Deletraz, Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: RPM Racing Media/Dutch Photo Agency
Johnny Cecotto - RP Motorsport [credit: FV8 Flickr]
Johnny Cecotto - RP Motorsport [credit: FV8 Flickr]
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: Sebastiaan Rozendaal / Dutch Photo Agency / LAT Photographic
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Beitske Visser, Teo Martin Motorsport [Credit: Teo Martin Motorsport]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.