FR3.5 »

Aleshin latest to join F2 grid.

Mikhail Aleshin has become the latest high-profile driver to join the inaugural 2009 FIA Formula Two Championship grid.

The Russian driver, who has spent the last three seasons racing in the World Series by Renault with Carlin Motorsport, becomes the second of three Red Bull backed drivers to be confirmed to the new Formula 1 feeder series.

Having become the first driver from his country to win a major international single-seater race at Monza in 2007, Aleshin follows former team-mate Robert Wickens in confirming his presence on the grid.

“It is great to be competing in F2,” he said. “The return of the championship has created a lot of excitement and it is great that all the cars are equal. I know Rob Wickens really well and having seen some of the other drivers announced, I know that it is going to be highly competitive.

“I am confident in my ability however, and feel that I can challenge at the top. I would like to thank Red Bull for their continued support in my career."

With only a handful of seats remaining, MotorSport Vision boss Jonathan Palmer is delighted to be welcoming an established race winner such as Aleshin to the series.

“This is yet another fantastic addition to Formula Two. The fact that Red Bull will be committing three of their Junior drivers to F2 shows just how seriously F1 teams are taking the championship.

“Mikhail is an international race winner and is well known in his homeland. I am delighted to welcome an outstanding Russian talent to the already impressive 2009 line-up."

Together with Wickens, Aleshin joins former World Series rival Julien Jousse and Formula 3 racer Sebastian Hohenthal in the championship, which kicks off at Valencia in May.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mikhail Aleshin - Carlin Motorsport [pic credit: Renault Sport Media]
Damiano Fioravanti, RP Motorsport, [Credit: Formula V8 3.5 Media]
Diego Menchaca - Fortec Motorsport
Louis Deletraz - Fortec Motorsports [credit: FV8 3.5]
Louis Deletraz - Fortec Motorsports [credit: FV8 3.5]
Jack Aitken - RP Motorsport [credit: RP Motorsport]
Vitor Baptista - RP Motorsport
Matevos Isaakyan, SMP Racing [credit: Formula V8 3.5]
Rene Binder, Lotus - Photo credit: Formula V8 3.5/RPM Racing
Rene Binder, Lotus - Photo credit: Formula V8 3.5/RPM Racing
Rene Binder, Lotus - Photo credit: Formula V8 3.5/RPM Racing
Rene Binder, Lotus - Photo credit: Formula V8 3.5 series/RPM Racing
Rene Binder, Lotus - Photo credit: Formula V8 3.5
Lotus Formula V8 3.5 team - Photo credit: RPM Racing Media
Pietro Fittipaldi, Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: RPM Media
Formula V8 - Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Louis Deletraz, Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: RPM Racing
Roy Nissany, Lotus - Photo credit: RPM media

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.