FR3.5 »

World Series confirms pre-selected teams.

The World Series by Renault has issued its usual interim list of participating teams for the 2009 season, with one space remaining in the field after a dozen outfits were given the green light to return.

All 13 contenders from 2008 lodged applications to take part again in 2009, but the series' organising committee stopped short of giving all carte blanche to return, naming twelve 'pre-selected' teams but making wait for another six weeks.

The Austrian-based operation has been a stalwart of the World Series, having joined predecessor Renault V6 in 2004 with Sven Barth and Jaap van Lagen, and taking victories at Monaco, Oschersleben and Dubai. When the WSbR started the following year, Interwetten followed and, despite struggling initially, became a potential target for F1 aspirants after a strong 2006 campaign when Andy Soucek and Eric Salignon both won races.

That resulted in Mexican telecoms giant Telmex bringing protégés such as Salvador Duran and Pablo Sanchez Lopez on board for 2007 and 2008 but, even though the former has won races, the team has been kept in limbo with regards to another year in the series as it finalises its plans and sponsors, and has until 27 February to 'complete its application'.

The twelve teams already pre-selected are:

Carlin Motorsport
Comtec Racing.
Epsilon Euskadi
International Draco Racing
Mofaz Fortec Motorsport
P1 Motorsport
Pons Racing
Prema Powerteam
RC Motorsport
Tech 1
Ultimate Signature Racing

All must now complete the second phase of registration before this date. The final list of teams will be published at the beginning of March.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Salvador Duran - Racing [pic credit: Renault Sport Media]
Nyck de Vries - DAMS [credit: Renault Sport]
Oliver Rowland - Fortec Motorsports [credit: Renault Sport]
Oliver Rowland - Fortec Motorsports [credit: Renault Sport]
Alfonso Celis Jr - AVF [credit: Renault Sport]
Philo Paz Armand - Pons Racing [credit: Renault Sport]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Bruno Bonifacio, Draco Racing [credit: Formula Renault]
Photo Credit: Strakka Racing Formula Renault 3.5 team
Photo: Jorge Cunha / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Photo: Photo Grégory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI
Photo: Alvaro Villa - Renault Sport Media
Photo: Alvaro Villa - Renault Sport Media

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.