FR3.5 »

Turvey takes first win at Monaco

Oliver Turvey took full advantage of his pole position to cruise to a maiden World Series by Renault victory around the streets of Monaco.

The Carlin Motorsport driver controlled things from the start, capitalising on the lack of overtaking opportunities for his rivals to resist Adrian Zaugg by just over half a second, while James Walker made it two British drivers on the podium in third.

In a race largely devoid of action, the podium positions were decided by the first corner, Turvey getting away cleanly to hold onto the lead, while Zaugg was able to leapfrog Walker into second position having started third.

Behind them, championship leader Marcos Martinez held fourth initially, but the Pons Racing driver would get no further than lap eight when he suffered a brake fluid leak, the first time the Spaniard has failed to see the chequered flag this season.

It allowed his countryman Miguel Molina to assume the position, but his attempts at clinging onto the podium fight fell faltered and he was forced to contain the challenge of those directly behind him.

Nonetheless, he was in turn able to hold off the attentions of Bertrand Baguette, whose fifth position gets him to within two points of Martinez in the overall standings.

Turvey's team-mate Jaime Alguersuari kept his points ticking over in sixth, ahead of Epsilon Euskadi pair Chris van der Drift and Adrian Valles. Last year's Monaco winner Charles Pic and Prema Powerteam's Stefano Coletti rounded out the points, the latter scoring on his debut in the series.

“This is the first time I've driven here,” Turvey said. “I couldn't think of a better place to get my first win! I got a good start, and from then on I knew the win was possible. I didn't focus too much on the others, I concentrated on avoiding making the slightest error. The first win is always the hardest to get. It's good to have done it pretty early in the season. This will stand me in good stead.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Oliver Turvey - Carlin Motorsport [pic credit: Renault Sport Media]
Jazeman Jaafar - Fortec [credit: Renault Sport]
Jazeman Jaafar - Fortec [credit: Renault Sport]
Nyck de Vries - DAMS [credit: Renault Sport]
Oliver Rowland - Fortec Motorsports [credit: Renault Sport]
Oliver Rowland - Fortec Motorsports [credit: Renault Sport]
Alfonso Celis Jr - AVF [credit: Renault Sport]
Philo Paz Armand - Pons Racing [credit: Renault Sport]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Matthieu Vaxiviere - Lotus [credit: Renault Sport Media]
Bruno Bonifacio, Draco Racing [credit: Formula Renault]
Photo Credit: Strakka Racing Formula Renault 3.5 team
Photo: Jorge Cunha / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Photo: Photo Grégory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.