FR3.5 »

Fourth win of year for Martinez at Silverstone

Marcos Martinez took his fourth win of the season at Silverstone on Saturday in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series and as a result he stretched his lead in the overall standings.

Martinez started on the front row for the sprint race, alongside Bertrand Baguette, who was on pole, thanks to the reserve grid rule.

The Spaniard made a good start and led into turn one ahead of Baguette, Daniil Move and Fairuz Fauzy. The lead group then stayed compact behind Martinez, with Baguette having to stave off attacks from Move, who was himself under pressure from Fauzy.

Just behind them, Oliver Turvey was battling it out with James Walker, Brendon Hartley, Jaime Alguersuari and Charles Pic.

The situation shifted when Move went onto the grass and the Russian driver dropped back to eighth. Fairuz Fauzy thus inherited third, with Turvey and Walker both breathing down his throat.

The battle for tenth was just as contested, with dog-fighting between Spanish drivers Marco Barba, Adrian Valles and Miguel Molina. Molina overtook Valles on lap 6 and then moved up to attack Barba, before getting the upper hand and grabbing tenth. P10 soon became P9 too as Move had to stop in the pits to clear out his side pods.

Meanwhile, at the halfway point, Martinez now had a slender one second lead and behind him the fight between Baguette and Fauzy was raging hard.

Fauzy moved up level with Baguette on lap 19, when the Belgian driver braked as late as he could but couldn't stay on the tarmac. He came out sixth, just ahead of Alguersuari, who promptly got past him as well.

With ten minutes to go, Martinez remained in command ahead of Fauzy, Turvey, Walker, Hartley, Alguersuari, Baguette, Pic and Molina.

However, at the end of the race Martinez began to struggle and was regularly locking up under braking. That allowed Fauzy to close in, but the Spaniard held on to take the chequered flag 1.227 seconds ahead.

Tagged as: Silverstone

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marcos Martinez - Pons Racing  [pic credit: Renault Sport]
Matthieu Vaxiviere, SMP Racing - Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Roy Nissany, Lotus - Photo credit: RPM Racing Media
Lotus Formula V8 3.5 team - Photo credit: RPM Racing Media
Pietro Fittipaldi, Fortec Motorsports - Photo credit: RPM Media
Formula V8 - Photo credit: RPM Racing media
Roy Nissany, Lotus - Photo credit: RPM media
Photo: Francois Flamand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media
Photo: Strakka Racing World Series by Renault team
Photo: Strakka Racing team
Photo: Strakka Racing Team
Will Bratt, Pons Racing, Formula Renault 3.5 [Credit: Marc Orme Media & PR]
Formula Renault 3.5 at Silverstone [2011]
James Walker - P1 Motorsport
James Walker - P1 Motorsport
Julien Jousse
Julien Jousse

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.