Jaime Alguersuari, CEO of Formula Renault 3.5 promoters RPM Racing, has released further details about the series' future as it prepares to part ways with Renault Sport from 2016.

Renault Sport announced an intention to severe ties with the F1 feeder series in July to concentrate efforts on both Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and new endurance category, the Renault Sport Trophy. Alguersuari has led the developments of the World Series by Renault in its many guises, from the World Series by Nissan to the Superfund World Series and will continue to promote the newly-separated FR3.5 going forward.

"The first reason to make this decision is for the drivers and the families," he told gathered press at the sixth round in Silverstone. "I created the Formula Renault by Nissan for a reason, to help the young drivers."

Related Articles

FR3.5 has been an integral stepping stone to F1 since its inception in 2005, promoting the likes of Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo and Carlos Sainz to the higher echelons of motorsport. The championship will likely remain rooted in Europe and a provisional calendar is due in October. Hoping to race at six F1 tracks per season going forward, a minimum of 18 drivers are still expected to commit to the championship next year.

"When Renault decided to stop the FR3.5 activity, my first thought was the young drivers and to still push drivers to F1 who do not have enough money," he continued. "We have momentum after 11 years and there are people involved in this championship, we must remember that," the Spaniard concluded.

The series will retain the same car design for the next three years with technical assistance from Renault Sport. The single-seater challengers can boast as much as 530 horsepower and the Drag Reduction System (DRS) for a high-tech and innovative driving experience.

RPM hopes to release more details in the coming weeks as 2016 developments continue to take shape. This comes following the announcement that FR2.0 Eurocup and the Renault Sport Trophy will support ELMS at five rounds, beginning next year.