With a new moniker, Formula 3.5, RPM Racing has announced that the championship will field 11 teams in 2016 in preparation for its first season without co-promoters Renault Sport at the helm.

DAMS Racing were notably absent from the list of teams and will be replaced by Swiss outfit Sprint of Race, for the 2016 season. The French squad won two consecutive drivers' titles with Kevin Magnussen and Carlos Sainz before Oliver Rowland's win with Fortec last weekend.

Nyck de Vries and Dean Stoneman are currently at the helm of the DAMS challengers but may be forced to switch to GP3 as the French outfit prepares a move to the single-seater championship in the coming months. They currently sit second in the title, just three points behind Lotus.

Related Articles

One more surprising addition perhaps comes in the form of Comtec Racing who remain committed to the 2016 season despite contesting just one round with Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup leader Louis Deletraz this year.

In a statement, RPM Racing - who, headed by Jaime Alguersuari Sr and supported once again by tyre suppliers Michelin, will promote the championship next year - is "in talks with other new teams in regards to a possible entry in this discipline, in addition to the announcement of the arrival of the new squad, Sprint of Race."

The Formula 3.5 series, dropping the Renault moniker for next year, will largely support GT Open and the World Touring Car Championship but a calendar has not yet been released.

The teams for the 2016 Formula 3.5 calendar are as follows:

Arden Motorsport GBR AVF ESP Carlin GBR Comtec Racing GBR Fortec Motorsports GBR International Draco Racing ITA Lotus CZE Pons Racing ESP Sprint of Race SUI Strakka Racing GBR Tech 1 Racing FRA