RPM Racing has announced the provisional Formula 3.5 calendar for 2016, the first since announcing that Renault would pull-out of the championship after an eleven year partnership.

The European tour will begin on April 16th at Motorland, Aragon. It will then head to the Hungaroring, Spa-Francorchamps, Paul Ricard and Silverstone before entering a two month summer break. In September, action will then recommence in Austria before making its way to Monza, Barcelona and a finale at Jerez in November - a later finish than usual for the series. Six of these circuits are current Formula 1 hosts allowing the up and coming drivers to get a taste of what these tracks offer.

Adopting a new moniker for 2016, F3.5 will also support a number of different championships including European Le Mans, World Touring Car Championships, GT Open and Blancpain over the course of the nine event year.

Related Articles

While no longer co-promoted alongside the World Series by Renault, and thus not joining forces with Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, the weekend will continue its normal structure. A morning qualifying and afternoon race will continue as normal on both the Saturday and Sunday. Jaime Alguersuari Sr has will remain at the helm of the championship in a senior position with RPM.

Silverstone is a prominent addition to the list and will be the backdrop for the fifth round of the new-look F3.5 alongside GT Open before a two month summer break. The British circuit returned to hosting the 3.5 litre machines this year after a two year absence while, after only one year, Le Mans has been replaced in favour of Paul Ricard.

The new F3.5 championship will begin next year with 11 teams already announced and more expected to follow suit in the coming months. New team Spirit of Race will d?but next year when two-time champions DAMS Racing leave the series ahead of their first GP3 campaign.

The provisional 2016 Formula 3.5 calendar is as follows:

April 16-17 Aragon, Spain (RS01/European Le Mans Series) April 23-24 Hungaroring, Hungary* (World Touring Car Championship) May 21-22 Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium (GT Open) June 25-26 Paul Ricard, France* (Blancpain Endurance) July 23-24 Silverstone, Great Britain (GT Open) September 10-11 Red Bull Ring, Austria* (GT Open) October 1-2 Monza, Italy (GT Open) October 29-30 Barcelona, Spain (GT Open) November 5-6 Jerez, Spain (EuroFormula Open)

*The Austrian, French, Austrian rounds - hosted in April, June and September respectively - are yet to be confirmed. The brackets denote the headline championship for that weekend.