Just one more position on the World Series by Renault is up for grabs after the first twelve teams that will compete in 2008 season were announced with relatively few surprises.

Regulation changes brought in by the introduction of a new Dallara chassis have prompted the Organising Committee to cut the entry list from 30 drivers to 26, meaning two current teams won't appear next year.

For the moment, three of the current teams will not make the grid in 2008 after the first 12 teams did not include Victory Engineering, GD Racing and Eurointernational.

Although the appearance of the lesser funded GD Racing and Eurointernational is little surprise, race winning Victory Engineering - currently running Giedo van der Garde and Charlie Kimball - was not so expected.

Still, while all three are in the running for the final place on the grid, they are thought to be chasing a spot alongside five new teams too. Although their identities have not been confirmed, Italiaracing.net reports that they are F3 Euroseries teams Signature and Mucke Motorsport, Formula Renault Eurocup team SG Motorsport, British F3 Champions Hitech Racing and finally FIA GT2 front runners AF Corse.

The surviving teams are: Comtec Racing, Tech 1 Racing, Interwetten.com Racing, Pons Racing, P1 Racing (Cram), Draco Racing, Fortec Motorsport, Carlin Motorsport, Epsilon Euskadi, KTR, Prema Powerteam and RC Motorsport.