Giedo van der Garde set the pace on the opening day of World Series by Renault testing in Spain, with the Dutchman making a fine start to his time running with the Cram Competition team.

Van der Garde, who tested F1 machinery for Spyker/Force India F1 during the past season, clocked his fastest lap during the morning session at Valencia, with Michael Herck going quicker in the afternoon but unable to knock van der Garde from the top of the pile.

"Everything went well with the team," he said, having just missed out on beating the best time posted last season by Miguel Molina. "We made a good job of things this morning and no-one was able to beat our time. This afternoon I had a minor technical problem, but it was sorted out by the end of the day. I hope to carry on in the same vein tomorrow."

Related Articles

Herck himself wasn't too disappointed with second place, admitting that red flags during the afternoon session hadn't helped in his bid to secure a place at the top of the times.

"My aim was to dip under 1m 22s," the Prema man enthused. "I didn't quite manage it but I wasn't far off! I was hindered slightly by the red flags in the afternoon. My Italian is getting better the more time I spend with the team, and I'm even going to take some exams in it!"

Although the morning session passed without any red flag stoppages, the same couldn't be said for the afternoon with Indian driver Parthiva Sureshwaren bringing them out for the first time. Alvaro Barba ended the day with the third quickest time for KTR while Charles Pic was fourth for Tech 1. Aleix Alcaraz was fifth for Pons Racing while Marco Barba was sixth for Interwetten.

World Series by Renault testing times: Day 1 (combined) - Valencia:

1. Giedo van der Garde Cram 1m 22.052s
2. Michael Herck Prema FRenault 1m 22.079s
3. Alvaro Barba KTR 1m 22.086s
4. Charles Pic Tech 1 1m 22.362s
5. Aleix Alcaraz PONS 1m 22.415s
6. Marco Barba Draco Racing Team 1m 22.527s
7. Robert Mehri Epsilon Euskadi 1m 22.695s
8. Alexandre Marsoin KTR 1m 22.715s
9. Bertrand Baguette Draco Racing Team 1m 22.766s
10. Johnny Cecotto RC MSport 1m 22.825s
11. Pablo Sanchez Interwetten 1m 22.980s
12. Oliver Oakes Tech 1 1m 23.127s
13. Duncan Tappy Comtec 1m 23.130s
14. Carlo van Dam Fortec 1m 23.158s
15. Robert Wickens Carlin 1m 23.210s
16 Sergio Perez Interwetten 1m 23.247s
17. Pippa Mann Cram 1m 23.587s
18. Xavier Maassen Comtec 1m 23.778s
19. Carlos Iaconelli Prema FRenault 1m 23.815s
20. Daniil Move Carlin 1m 23.849s
21. Parthiva Sureshwaren Victory Engineering 1m 24.812s
22. Pascuale di Sabatino RC MSport 1m 26.496s