GP2 »

Series celebrates season end with prize ceremony

The 2011 GP2 season came to an end with the race weekend at Monza, with no better venue for the prize-giving ceremony that saw Romain Grosjean receive the championship trophy.
The GP2 Series put on a show of a different kind after the race weekend activities came to an end at Monza, with the drivers and teams getting together to hand out the awards and prizes for the 2011 season's achievements.

Romain Grosjean picked up his trophy for first place in the drivers' championship, completing his clean sweep of the GP2 Europe/GP2 Asia titles in 2011 in the final season before they merge in 2012.

The Dams driver follows in the footsteps of previous GP2 champions Nico Rosberg, Lewis Hamilton, Timo Glock, Giorgio Pantano, Nico Hulkenberg and Pastor Maldonardo - all of whom graduated to F1. Grosjean too is hoping that this is the step he needs to return to the F1 paddock in 2012, with the signs suggesting that be may be back on the Grand Prix grid in a Renault next season.

Following the fascinatingly tight battle for the runner-up position over the Monza weekend, Coloni's Luca Filippi and ART's Jules Bianchi picked up their well deserved and hard fought prizes for second and third place.

Barwa Addax team owner Alejandro Agag accepted the Champions Trophy for the winning team, having dominated the season with strong performances from both of their drivers Giedo van der Garde and Charles Pic. Dams took their silverware for finishing runners-up thanks to Grosjean's consistently strong solo showing throughout the season.

The serious prizes over with, there were some more light-hearted awards to hand out - such as the trophy for "Best car livery" as voted for by GP2 fans, with the award going to Racing Engineering who netted almost 2000 votes (30% of the total) and which was accepted by team owner Alfonso de Orléans Borbon, who also took home the trophy for the third placed team in the championship.

An award for "Best Fighting Spirit" went to Johnny Cecotto for his efforts to stay in the points in the Spa sprint race, while "Best On-Track Battle" went to Jules Bianchi and Christian Vietoris for their thrilling fight in the Silverstone feature race on lap 17. "Best Overtaking Manoeuvre" went to Esteban Gutierrez for his move on Charles Pic and Luca Filippi on lap 7 of the Nurburgring feature race, while Lotus ART took the prize for the GP2 Football Challenge.

Four hundred and fifty people attended the prize ceremony, which also gave one last opportunity for some competition: a driver from each team trying out the Pirelli simulator, while the other driver managed the pit stop. It was a battle that at the end of the evening went to Caterham Team AirAsia's duo of Luiz Razia and Davide Valsecchi.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Christian Vietoris (GER, Racing Engineering) on track at Monza. [Photo Credit: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service.]
The scene at the ceremony. [Photo credit: Drew Gibson/GP3 Media Service.]
All the 2011 GP2/GP3 award winners in one line-up. [Photo Credit: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service.]
Jules Bianchi (FRA,Lotus ART) and Christian Vietoris (GER, Racing Engineering) collect their Dallara trophy for best on-track battle. [Photo credit: Drew Gibson/GP3 Media Service.]
The Dams team and Luca Filippi (ITA, Scuderia Coloni) collect their respective trophies for 2nd in the GP2 teams and drivers Championship. [Photo credit: Drew Gibson/GP3 Media Service.]
2011 GP2 Series Champion Romain Grosjean (FRA, Dams) collects the Champion`s Trophy, with Alejandro Agag, team principal of Barwa Addax, which won the teams championship. [Photo credit: Drew Gibson/GP3 Media Service.]
Nobuharu Matsushita - ART Grand Prix [credit: Formula 2]
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc, Prema Racing, F2, Formula 2, Bahrain
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc, Prema Racing, Formula 2, 2017
Alexander Albon - ART Grand Prix [GP2 Series]
Gustav Malja - Racing Engineering [credit: GP2 Series]
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing
Alex Lynn - DAMS
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.