Stewards have penalised four drivers for impeding other competitors during Friday afternoon's GP2 Series qualifying session on the streets of Valencia in Spain.

Championship leader Davide Valsecchi (DAMS) is one of those to have been handed a grid penalty as a result of being found to have interfered with another car's qualifying run.

His fellow second-row man Esteban Guti?rrez (Lotus GP) has also been handed a penalty, meaning that Caterham's Giedo van der Garde and Carlin's Max Chilton will now start directly behind the front row consisting of series rookies James Calado and Felipe Nasr.

Guti?rrez and Valsecchi will now start from fifth and sixth place respectively.

Johnny Cecotto Jr. (Barwa Addax), who had qualified in 15th, will also take a starting grid penalty, while Simon Trummer (Arden) will get a demotion just behind Cecotto. That leaves Cecotto starting from 17th place and Trummer in 18th.

There was no penalty for pole sitter James Calado, who was seen driving the wrong way on the track after spinning at turn 6 with five minutes of qualifying remaining, as he sought to find a place wide enough to get his Lotus GP car back around in the right direction to avoid triggering a red flag.

More surprisingly there were no penalties for either Rodolfo Gonzalez or Fabio Crestani, despite TV pictures apparently showing them blocking Davide Valsecchi's late qualifying run while they had their own slow-speed squabble over track position.

Revised feature race starting grid

1. #9 James Calado Lotus GP
2. #4 Felipe Nasr DAMS
3. #12 Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing
4. #26 Max Chilton Carlin
5. #10 Esteban Guti?rrez Lotus GP *
6. #3 Davide Valsecchi DAMS *
7. #5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering
8. #8 Jolyon Palmer iSport
9. #7 Marcus Ericsson iSport
10. #27 Rio Haryanto Carlin
11. #23 Luiz Razia Arden
12. #21 Tom Dillmann Rapax
13. #14 Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni
14. #16 Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing
15. #6 Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering
16. #15 Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni
17. #1 Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax *
18. #22 Simon Trummer Arden *
19. #2 Josef Kral Barwa Addax
20. #17 Julian Leal Trident Racing
21. #18 Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela Lazarus GP
22. #11 Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing
23. #25 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing
24. #24 Victor Guerin Ocean Racing
25. #20 Dani?l de Jong Rapax
26. #19 Giancarlo Serenelli Venezuela Lazarus GP

* after grid penalty for impeding